National Under 20s team named for Argentina clash

by staff

The Australian Under 20s side to take on Argentina in the opening match of the IRB Junior World Championship has been named with Melbourne Rebels Forward, Sean McMahon to captain the side.

The Australian Under 20s has had the most extensive preparation in the programs history with a two longer camps and four preparation matches in 2014 readying the side for the rigours of international competition.

Head Coach Adrian Thompson was excited with the promise of his squad.

“The team has worked very hard throughout camp and are very excited to begin the tournament.

“The hard work is only just beginning as we have a very strong pool. The match against Argentina is going to be very tough, but I am very confident in the team we have named.”

1. Rory O’Connor

2. Harry Scoble

3. Allan Alaalatoa

4. Matt Philip

5. Jack Payne

6. Sean McMahon (c)

7. Rowan Perry

8. Ross Haylett-Petty

9. Joe Powell

10. Jake McIntyre

11. Andrew Kellaway

12. Jimmy Stewart

13. Lalakai Foketi

14. Brad Lacey

15. Jonah Placid


16. Alifeleti Kaitu’u

17. Cameron Orr

18. Tom Robertson

19. Sam Croke

20. Jack Dempsey

21. Angus Pulver

22. David Horwitz

23. Luke Burton

The Australian Under 20s match against Argentina will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS at 11.30am AEST on Monday June 2.