National Under 20s team announced to take on England

by staff

The Australian Under 20s side which will take on England this Friday in the IRB Junior World Championship has been announced by Head Coach Adrian Thompson.

The National Under 20s will go into their match against England, who are the defending IRB Junior World Champions, with five straight victories for 2014, the most recent being their win over Argentina (36-17) in the opening round of the competition.

It was the first victory for the Australian side against Argentina in three matches.

Australian Head Coach Adrian Thompson has made just one change to his side with ACT Brumbies player, Tom Staniforth returning from an ankle injury.

The tall second rower had been sidelined by the injury during the Under 20s training camp and will bolster the already dominant Australian forward pack.

“Bringing Tom straight back into the starting line-up is going to do great things for our already solid pack,” Thompson said.

“Our guys really showed the hard work we have done on scrums against Argentina as we dominated their pack, but the challenge against England is going to be difficult.

“We know England’s pack is quite strong and bringing in Tom with his Super Rugby experience will add to our depth.

“Taking on last year’s Champions is not going to be easy, however I am confident the side we have selected will be able to account for England.”

Australia plays England this Friday 6 June at 3.35pm AEST. The match will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS.

Australian Under 20s:

1. Rory O’Connor

2. Harry Scoble

3. Allan Alaalatoa

4. Matt Philip

5. Tom Staniforth

6. Sean McMahon (c)

7. Rowan Perry

8. Ross Haylett-Petty

9. Joe Powell

10. Jake McIntyre

11. Andrew Kellaway

12. Jimmy Stewart

13. Lalakai Foketi

14. Brad Lacey

15. Jonah Placid


16. Feliti Kaitu’u

17. Cameron Orr

18. Tom Robertson

19. Jack Payne

20. Jack Dempsey

21. Angus Pulver

22. David Horwitz

23. Luke Burton