2012 JWC pools, dates and venues announced

Tue, 13/12/2011, 01:00 am
RUGBY.com.au staff
by RUGBY.com.au staff

The International Rugby Board has announced the dates, pools and venues for the IRB Junior World Championship 2012 in South Africa.

Cape Town and Stellenbosch will host the world’s premier Age Grade tournament between June 4 and 22, which will feature the world’s top 12 ranked Under 20 teams.

In a move from recent Championships, the 2012 event will feature just two venues with triple-headers being played across five match days to maximise crowds and create a festival format within what is a large Rugby heartland.

Two venues with strong Rugby heritage have been selected with the University of Western Cape Stadium in Cape Town sharing the matches with the Danie Craven Stadium, which will host the Final on June 22.

IRB Junior World Championship 2012 Pools:

Pool A: New Zealand (2011 champions), Fiji, Wales and Samoa

Pool B: England, South Africa, Ireland and Italy

Pool C: Australia, France, Argentina and Scotland

IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “The IRB Junior World Championship has grown to become one of the most eagerly anticipated events on the global Rugby calendar, delivering a competitive development pathway for our Unions as well as a fantastic competitive product which has proven a hit with fans and broadcasters.”

“So far, 111 players have made the step up from the Tournament to win full Test caps, including 49 players who made their mark at Rugby World Cup 2011.”

“We look forward to another memorable tournament in 2012 and the opportunity to embrace the rich Rugby heritage of the region with the dynamic and free-flowing Rugby provided by the next generation of international Test stars.”

The South Africa Rugby Union (SARU) is committed to delivering a tournament to further the growth of Rugby within the country, while building on the record-breaking 2011 edition staged in the Veneto region of Italy which was screened live by 19 broadcasters to 142 territories.

IRB Tournament Director Philippe Bourdarias, speaking in South Africa for the announcement, said: “The IRB Junior World Championship is strategically important both for the IRB and participating Unions as it provides a competitive international arena to test and develop some of the best up and coming players and referees in the world.”

“South Africa has a proven record in hosting wonderful Rugby events and I am sure the teams and players will enjoy a unique experience here next year.”

SARU President Oregan Hoskins said: “We are delighted to host the IRB Junior World Championship 2012 in our rugby-mad country and we look forward to welcoming the teams here in June.”

The South African pair of Patrick Lambie and Francois Hougaard join an illustrious list of graduates, which includes New Zealand’s RWC 2011 winners Aaron Cruden, Zac Guildford and Sam Whitelock, Australia’s David Pocock and Will Genia, England’s Courtney Lawes and Ben Youngs and Wales’ youngest ever RWC captain Sam Warburton.

Norths in action against Eastwood
Club Corner: regular season sets in across the country
James Ramm in action for the NSW Waratahs. Photo: Getty Images
Waratahs desperate to play spoilers ahead of Rebels clash
World Rugby Hall of Fame inductee and Australian Daniel Carroll in the American Army serving as Lieutenant during WWI. Photo: ARU Archive.
ANZAC Legends: Daniel Carroll
Ardie Savea in action for the Hurricanes. Photo: Getty Images
Super Rugby Aotearoa Teams: All the team news for Round Nine
Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.