Pools for Womens Sevens World Series in Canada drawn

by RUGBY.com.au staff

The Qantas Australian Women's team has learned its opponents for the inaugural Canada Sevens in Langford, British Columbia next month (19-20 April).

Tim Walsh's side has been drawn in Pool B alongside France, Brazil and China as Australia seek to improve on a relatively disappointing fifth place in Atlanta last weekend.

If the formbook is anything to go by, Australia should qualify for the Cup Quarter-Finals having comfortably beaten China (38-7) and Brazil (40-0) in Sao Paulo and a vastly-improved France side on three occasions (24-10 in Dubai; 19-7 and 26-17 in Atlanta) so far throughout the 2014-15 Women's Sevens World Series.

The Canada Sevens will take place at the 3,600 capacity Westhills Stadium in Langford.

Australia sit second in the series standings on points difference from Canada with three rounds to play this season. After Langford, the series heads east to London (15-16 May)and climaxes in Amsterdam (22-23 May).

Meanwhile, Qantas Men's Sevens Head Coach Geraint John is expected to name the 12-man squad he will take to the iconic Hong Kong Sevens later this week.

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens fixtures for Langford, Canada on 19-20 April:

Australia v Brazil, Pool B, 4.22am (AEST), 19 April

Australia v China, Pool B, 7.22am (AEST), 19 April

Australia v France, Pool B, 10.22am (AEST), 19 April