Three changes to Australian women's squad for Canada Sevens

by staff

Qantas Australian Women's Sevens Head Coach Tim Walsh has made three changes to the squad he will take to the inaugural Canada Sevens in Langford, British Columbia (19-20 April).

Gemma Etheridge and Nikki Etheridge return while Nicole Beck is welcomed back into the squad after recovering from a long-term shoulder injury.

Charlotte Caslick, Ellia Green, Shannon Parry and Alicia Quirk, meanwhile, are all set to win their 10th Women's Sevens World Series caps at the 3,600-capacity Westhills Stadium.

Current Women's Sevens Player of the Year Emilee Cherry (knee), Evania Pelite (thigh), Rachel Crothers (shoulder), Brooke Anderson (shoulder) and Taleena Simon (leg) all miss out due to injury.

Australia has been drawn in Pool B alongside France, Brazil and China looking to improve on their fifth place finish in Atlanta last month.

Qantas Australian Women's Sevens Head Coach Tim Walsh said: "I'm confident we are fielding a strong squad to compete in Canada. There's no doubt we will miss Emilee [Cherry] and Evania [Pelite] but we have good depth in the squad. With Gemma [Etheridge] and Nicole [Beck] returning from injury we are well-covered and I'm looking forward to seeing us play an entertaining and ruthless style of Rugby Sevens.

"After a very disappointing fifth-place finish in Atlanta, we are driven to prepare better than ever before and not let complacency becoem a reason for defeat."

Australia sits joint-second with Canada in the 2014/15 Women's Sevens World Series on 48 points, 12 behind series leaders New Zealand with three rounds to play.

Fans can watch both days play LIVE via

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens fixtures for Langford, Canada on 19-20 April:

Australia v Brazil, Pool B, 4.22am (AEST), 19 April

Australia v China, Pool B, 7.22am (AEST), 19 April

Australia v France, Pool B, 10.22am (AEST), 19 April

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens squad for the 2014/15 HSBC Sevens World Series in Langford, Canada:

Nicole Beck. Place of Birth: Bulli, NSW

Charlotte Caslick. Place of Birth: Brisbane, QLD

Chloe Dalton. Place of Birth: Singapore. Hometown: Mona Vale, NSW

Gemma Etheridge. Place of Birth: Tamworth, NSW. Hometown: Toowoomba, QLD

Nikki Etheridge. Place of Birth: Tamworth, NSW. Hometown: Toowoomba, QLD

Ellia Green. Place of Birth: Suva, Fiji. Hometown: Melbourne, VIC

Shannon Parry. Place of Birth: Brisbane, QLD

Tiana Penitani. Place of Birth: Canberra, ACT. Hometown: Maroubra, NSW

Alicia Quirk. Place of Birth: Wagga Wagga, NSW

Emma Tonegato. Place of Birth: Wollongong, NSW

Amy Turner. Place of Birth: Tokoroa, New Zealand. Hometown: Brisbane, QLD

Sharni Williams. Place of Birth: Batlow, NSW. Hometown: Canberra, ACT

13th player: Brooke Walker. Hometown: Brisbane, QLD