Cheika confirms preliminary Qantas Wallabies train-on squad

by staff

With the Melbourne Rebels, Queensland Reds and Western Force’s Asteron Life Super Rugby campaigns coming to end, Qantas Wallabies Head Coach Michael Chieka has named a preliminary train-on squad for the opening round of The Rugby Championship on July 18 against South Africa in Brisbane.

Selected players will assemble in Brisbane from Monday 22 June and train out of Ballymore, before their first official camp on July 5 in Caloundra on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast.

Additional players from the Brumbies and NSW Waratahs will be confirmed at the end of their respective Super Rugby seasons.

The Preliminary Qantas Wallabies Train-on Squad* for The Rugby Championship is:

Melbourne Rebels

Paul Alo-Emile^

Scott Higginbotham

Luke Jones

Sean McMahon

Toby Smith^

Queensland Reds

Quade Cooper

Saia Fainga’a

Will Genia

Liam Gill

James Hanson

James Horwill

Greg Holmes

Karmichael Hunt^

Samu Kerevi^

James O’Connor

Rob Simmons

James Slipper

Western Force

Adam Coleman^

Nick Cummins

Tetera Faulkner

Ben McCalman

Matt Hodgson

*Brumbies and NSW Waratahs players excluded


See the Qantas Wallabies take on the Springboks on 18 July at Suncorp Stadium.