Aon Uni 7s: UQ secure second Uni 7s Series title

Uni 7s
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The University of Queensland is certain to claim a second Uni 7s series title in three seasons but day two in Canberra will determine whether they share the spoils.

UQ came into the tournament six points clear of their nearest rival and are on track for another top two finish in their pool, guaranteeing them a minimum 14 points from this tournament.

That means their fierce rivals and current series runners-up Griffith University would need to win the final tournament to force an overall series tie but UQ can not be knocked out of top spot entirely.

Sydney Uni face the same equation but they are still waiting to secure their semi-final spot after a loss to the University of Adelaide in their first day of matches.

The two Queensland sides go head-to-head in their final pool match on Sunday morning, before the semis kick off at 12pm AEDT.

After day one in Canberra, it's the University of Adelaide who have made the biggest statement, sitting on top of its pool with three wins from three matches and on track for a semi-final berth.

The South Australians lead UC by two points, with Sydney Uni back in third in that pool.

The day two action kicks off on Sunday at 9am AEDT, with every moment LIVE on

The tournament kicks off at 9am on Saturday and continues on Sunday, with the final at 2:40pm AEDT. All games from both days' play will be streamed LIVE at


After Day one

Pool A

1.  University of Adelaide - 9 pts

2. University of Canberra - 7 pts

3. Sydney Uni - 7 pts

4. UWA - 5 pts

5. University of Melbourne - 4 pts

Pool B

1. UQ - 9 pts

2. Griffith Uni - 8 pts

3. Bond Uni - 6 pts

4. UTS - 6 pts

5. UNE - 3 pts

Series Standings (before University of Canberra) 

1. UQ -  56 pts

2. Griffith Uni - 50 pts

3. Sydney Uni 50 pts

4. Uni of Canberra - 38 pts

5. UTS - 36 pts

6. Uni of Adelaide - 36 pts

7. Bond Uni - 22 pts

8. Uni of Melbourne 18 pts

9. UWA - 14 pts

10. UNE - 10 pts


Charlotte Casklick takes the ball up for Bond University. Photo: Karen Watson

Round 1

University of Adelaide 26 - University of Canberra 7

University of Melbourne 0 -  University of Sydney 5

University of New England 17 - Bond University 26

University of Queensland 14 - University of Technology Sydney 12

Round 2

University of Western Australia 29 - University of Melbourne 10

University of Sydney 5 - University of Adelaide 28 

University of Technology Sydney 17 - Griffith University 17

Bond University 12 - University of Queensland 21 

Round 3

University of Sydney 19 - University of Western Australia 10

University of Canberra 29 - University of Melbourne 7

University of Queensland 17 - University of New England 10

Griffith University 33 - Bond University 12

Round 4

University of Melbourne 7 - University of Adelaide 42

University of Western Australia 12 - University of Canberra 31

Bond University 19  - University of Technology Sydney 45

University of New England 12 - Griffith University 22


Sunday October 27. All times AEDT

Lily Dick scores for Griffith University. Photo: Karen Watson

Round 5

9am - University of Canberra vs University of Sydney

9:20am - University of Adelaide vs University of Western Australia

9:40am - Griffith University vs University of Queensland

10am - University of Technology Sydney vs University of New England


11am - 3rd Pool A v 4th Pool B

11:20am - 3rd Pool B v 4th Pool A

11:40am - 1st Pool A v 2nd Pool B

12pm - 1st Pool B v 1st Pool A


1pm - 9th/10th Playoff

1:25pm - 7th/8th Playoff

1:50pm - 5th/6th Playoff

2:15pm - Bronze Medal Match

2:40pm - Gold Medal Match