Bond to host Aon Uni 7s round two action this weekend

Uni 7s
by staff

Bond University will host the second round of the Aon Uni 7s competition this weekend as the tournament approaches the halfway mark.

Hosts Bond will be looking for redemption after narrowly avoiding a 10th-place finish in round one, while the University of Queensland will look to extend their lead after winning the opening carnival on home soil at St Lucia.

After finishing as runners-up in their Uni 7s debut a fortnight ago, UTS is looking to go one better to secure a maiden title.

UQ celebrate their win in the opening round of the Aon Uni 7s at the University of Queensland. Photo: Karen Watson

UWA, who were also added to the roster for the 2019 season, won their first match at UQ in tournament one but could not add another victory and are out to build on that showing this weekend. 

The chasing pack also have plenty to prove, with vital competition points up for the taking.

Every match of round two of the 2019 Aon University Sevens Series will be streamed LIVE and FREE on

Day one of the competition is set to be a super weekend of pathways rugby, with the first match of U19s Rugby Championship set to take place following the first matchday of the Uni 7s Series.


Defending URC Champions Brisbane City will take to the field as they look to continue their unbeaten record against last season's runners-up Queensland Country.

Aon Uni 7s Pools

Pool A: University of Queensland, Griffith University, University of Adelaide, University of New England, Bond University 

Pool B: University of Technology Sydney, University of Sydney, University of Melbourne, University of Canberra, University of Western Australia 


Saturday 28 September

Round 1:

University of Queensland v University of Adelaide, 9:00am

Bond University v Griffith University, 9:20am

UTS v University of Canberra, 9:40am

University of Melbourne v University of Sydney, 10:00am

Round 2:

University of Queensland v Bond University, 11:00am

Griffith University v UNE, 11:20am

University of Canberra v University of Sydney, 11:40am

UTS v University of Western Australia, 12:00pm

Round 3:

University of Adelaide v UNE, 1:00pm

Griffith University v University of Queensland, 1:20pm

University of Sydney v University of Western Australia, 1:40pm

University of Canberra v University of Melbourne, 2:00pm 

Round 4:

University of Adelaide v Bond University, 3:00pm

University of Queensland v UNE, 3:20pm

University of Western Australia v University of Melbourne, 3:40pm

University of Sydney v UTS, 4:00pm 

Sunday 29 September

Round 5:

UNE v Bond University, 9:00am

Griffith University v University of Adelaide, 9:20am

University of Melbourne v UTS, 9:40am

University of Western Australia v University of Canberra, 10:00am 


3rd Pool A v 4th Pool B, 11.00am 

3rd Pool B v 4th Pool A, 11.20am

1st Pool A v 2nd Pool B, 11.40am

1st Pool B v 1st Pool A, 12.00am 


9th/10th Playoff, 1.00pm

7th/8th Playoff, 1.25pm

5th/6th Playoff, 1.50pm

Bronze Medal Match, 2.15pm

Gold Medal Match, 2.40pm