Cottesloe take out FMG Premiership title

by staff

A 72nd-minute try from Ivan Fepule'ai has given Cottesloe the FMG Premiership title for 2019 in a 17-10 win over Nedlands.

In what was an incredibly tight tussle, it took until the final 10 minutes for Cottesloe to open up an advantage with that score.

Fepulea'i's score proved the difference in a two tries-to-one victory for Cottesloe against competition heavyweights Nedlands.

Joseph Ritchie scored the only try for Nedlands with his side also slotting a penalty and a conversion in the match.

The Gulls thought ultimately found a way to break through via Fepulea'i and they finished on top.

Fepulea'i's try capped off a man of the match performance for the front rower, who was influential all day.

Tobias Hoskins was among the other Gulls that made an impression on the day against a relentless Nedlands side.

The result was the culmination of a competitive final portion of the competition with both teams just edging their opponents to make it into the title decider.


Nedlands 10

Cottesloe 17