Hooper claims sixth Matt Burke Cup

Super Rugby
by RUGBY.com.au staff

Waratahs captain Michael Hooper has taken out a record sixth Matthew Burke Cup as NSW's best player this season.

The openside flanker finished the season as Super Rugby's top tackler, despite missing two matches and not featuring in finals, and was consistently one of the Waratahs' best players throughout the season.

Hooper has won the trophy in all bar one of his seasons at the Waratahs, Israel Folau (2018) the only other player to take the prize in recent years.

Wallaroos captain Grace Hamilton took out the Super W player of the year prize after her stellar season.

In the positional awards, Karmichael Hunt and Rob Simmons claimed the best back and best forward gongs, while backrower Lachie Swinton won the Chris Whitaker Medal as rookie of the year.

Emily Chancellor and Ash Hewson took out the Super W best forward and best back prizes, respectively, while playmaker Arabella McKenzie was named the rookie of the season.

Grace Hamilton won the Super W Player of the Year. Photo: RUGBY.com.au/Stuart WalmsleyJunior Wallabies winger Mark Nawaqanitawase won the Dave Dennis Elite Youth Development Player of the Year NSW Rugby CEO 

“It’s not often you’re able to get everyone together in the one place to celebrate the things that make our game so great,” Hore said.

“We’ve seen some wonderful individuals recognised for their contribution to rugby in New South Wales and I can’t stress the importance of their work at the grassroots of our game – ensuring rugby is inclusive, accessible and continues to thrive.

“At a representative level, players like Michael [Hooper] and Grace [Hamilton] are worthy Player of the Year winners who we’re proud to have represent the New South Wales Waratahs.

“Tonight also reinforces the value of the investment we’ve made into our development with Lachlan [Swinton], Mark [Nawaqanitawase] and Hugh [Bockenham] all taking home awards – with each having taken a different journey through our player pathway.

“On a personal note, we also said goodbye to players and staff who have all had important roles to play in the growth of our organisation, I’d like to thank them for their service to New South Wales Rugby and wish them the very best in the future.”


Super Rugby

Matt Burke Cup

Michael Hooper

Best Forward

Rob Simmons

Best Back

Karmichael Hunt

Chris Whitaker Medal

Lachlan Swinton

Super W

Super W Player of the Year

Grace Hamilton

Super W Best Forward

Emily Chancellor

Best Back

Ash Hewson

Rookie of the Year

Arabella McKenzie

Community Awards

Dave Dennis Elite Youth Development Player of the Year

Mark Nawaqanitawase

Volunteer of the Year (Youth)

Liam Rice, Bourke Rams.

Volunteer of the Year (Senior)

Steve Johnson, Southern Districts.

Young Community Match Official of the Year

Angus Cameron, Sydney North.

Community Match Official of the Year

Kate Thomson, Central Coast.

Spirit of Rugby: Girls' Player of the Year

Irene Taylor, Eastwood.

Spirit of Rugby: Boys' Player of the Year

Heath Lancaster, St Pauls College, Kempsey.

Matthew Street Shield

Hugh Bockenham, St Joseph’s College.