SANZAAR reveals full Rugby Championship draw

by staff

SANZAAR has confirmed the abbreviated six-match schedule for this year's Rugby Championship including all match venues and kick-off times.

The Wallabies will play three Tests as part of the championship, with a further Bledisloe match against New Zealand as part of an additional weekend of matches as the teams look to hone their World Cup preparations.

In this World Cup year, The Rugby Championship has been shortened to a three-round, six-match tournament from the traditional six-round, 12-match event, with each team playing each other either home or away.  

And with Super Rugby playing unbroken for 21 weeks without the previous June break for inbound Test matches, The Rugby Championship kicks off earlier, on Saturday July 20.

South Africa take on the Wallabies in the first match of the tournament at Johannesburg, with Argentina and New Zealand playing in Buenos Aires.

Michael Hooper is off-contract. Photo: Getty Images

Australia plays Argentina in Brisbane the following week before heading to Perth for a round three double-header against the All Blacks, with the Wallaroos and Black Ferns also on the Optus Stadium program.

That match rounds out The Rugby Championship, with the Wallabies taking on the All Blacks at Eden Park on August 17 in a Bledisloe clash.

Australia rounds out its World Cup preparations with a Test against Samoa at Parramatta on September 7.


The Rugby Championship (All times AEST)

Round one

South Africa v Australia, Johannesburg, Sunday July 21, 1:05am

Argentina v New Zealand, Buenos Aires, Sunday July 21, 8:40am

Round two

New Zealand v South Africa, Saturday July 27, 5:35pm

Australia v Argentina, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, Saturday July 27, 8pm

Round three

Australia v New Zealand, Optus Stadium, Perth, August 10, 8pm

Argentina v South Africa, Salta, August 11, 5:40am

Additional Test weekend

New Zealand v Australia, Auckland, August 17, 5:35pm

South Africa v Argentina, Pretoria, August 18, 1:05am