Stander wins Nathan Sharpe Medal

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Backrower Brynard Stander has won the 2018 Nathan Sharpe Medal.

Stander was a standout for the Force in their World Series Rugby campaign this year and his form was noticed by people across the country.

The 28-year-old was picked to play against the Wallabies in their pre-Bledisloe trial in August off the back of his Force performances, a testament to his abrasiveness.

He joins an illustrious list of players to win the award, including capped Wallabies Matt HDavid Pocock and Matt Giteau.

Stander's form continued into the NRC, something that was recognised by his peers as well with the backrower taking that gong too.

Skipper Ian Prior took out the Members' MVP award, while Tevin Ferris was voted the team's rising star.

USA international Marcel Brache won the Geoffrey Stooke Force Man award.


Nathan Sharpe Medal

Brynard Stander

NRC Player of the Year

Brynard Stander 

Members’ MVP

Ian Prior 

Rising Star

Tevin Ferris 

Geoffrey Stooke Force Man Award

Marcel Brache

Past Nathan Sharpe Medal winners 

2017 – Isi Naisarani

2016 – Dane Haylett-Petty

2015 – Ben McCalman

2014 – Matt Hodgson

2013 – Kyle Godwin

2012 – David Pocock

2011 – David Smith

2010 – Matt Hodgson

2009 – Matt Hodgson

2008 – Ryan Cross

2007 – Matt Giteau

2006 – Scott Staniforth