Junior Wallabies' 2019 prep starts with state training squads

World Rugby U20s Championship
by RUGBY.com.au staff

The Junior Wallabies have named an 87-man extended training squad for 2019 after the recent U19 Rugby Championship.

This is the first squad named in the new U20s structure, with October's URC replacing the Super 20s competition that was run at the start of the Super Rugby season.

A host of players have also been included in the squad from July's Australian Schools competition, giving some 18-year-olds their first taste of U20s expectations.

The group will go into state-based camps before a condensed group comes together in Canberra to kick off the 2019 campaign proper.

Junior Wallabies coach Jason Gilmore said January would be when the side's focus really sharpens.

"This wider training squad that we have selected comes off the back of several weeks of national competition, both at the U19 Rugby Championship as well as the Australian Schoolboys," he said.

“From here the boys will be linking up with their state-based academies where they will continue to train until we assemble in January at the Australian Institute of Sport where our preparations will really ramp up.”  

The Junior Wallabies will play in next year's Oceania U20s and the World Rugby U20s Champs in Argentina. 


Junior Wallabies extended training squad


Billy Carberry

Tauati Chan-Tung

Will Goddard

Wyll Holland

Kristian Jensen

Fred Kaihea

Noah Lolesio

Lachlan Lonergan

Ben Love

Zane Marolt

Lachlan Osborne

Rory Scott

Lincoln Smith

Seamus Smith


Bo Abra

Angus Bell

Darcy Breen

Liam Cornish

Ben Donaldson

Max Douglas

Brooklyn Hardaker

Will Harris

Will Harrison

Jack Lafolafo

Nathan Lawson

Ciaran Loh

Jack Murray

Ed Poolman

Henry Robertson

Lachlan Shelly

Pat Tafa

Joey Walton

Hunter Ward

Jeremy Williams

Finn Wright

Yool Yool

Triston Reilly


Nathan Carroll

Will Chaffey

Lachlan Connors

Joe Cotton

Will Deardon

Ethan Dobbins

Max Dowd

Will Feeney

Reno Gerrard

Carter Gordon

Lloyd Gorman

Isaac Henry

Phoenix Hunt

Elijah Kefu

Tom Kibble

Tyrell Kopua

Viliami Lea

Isaac Lucas

Emmanuel Maliko

Callum McDonald

Fraser McReight

Josh Nasser

Kye Oates

Ben Paxton-Hall

Jordan Petaia

Byron Ralston

Sam Samu

Egan Siggs

Tristan Stanghon

Bayley Tau Tau

Laurence Tominiko

Emosi Tuqiri

Liam Usher

Rhys Van Nek

Harry Wilson

Michael Wood

Jeral Skelton


Oliver Barden

Esei Haangana

Trevor Hosea

Tom Jeffries

Sione Tui

Semisi Tupou

Western Australia

Oliver Callan

Jack Hardy

Victor Harris

Brody Macaskill

Michael McDonald

Jackson Pugh

Carlo Tizzano