Former Rebel Lomax named in wider All Blacks squad

by Sam Phillips

Former Rebels prop Tyrel Lomax is one of a long list of bolters that will join  a wider All Blacks squad on the Japan leg of New Zealand's Spring Tour.

Lomax, who made 13 appearances for the Rebels before joining the Highlanders this season, is one of 19 players who will join Hansen's initial squad of 32.

A potential Test debut is now in reach for Lomax, whose father, John, played rugby league for New Zealand.

The only potential debutant in Hansen's 32-man squad is Blues flanker Dalton Papalii.Lomax left Australian shores last year. Photo: Getty ImagesWhile there is plenty of fresh blood in the combined squads Hansen has also recalled several previously injured stars.

The NZRU has made a special exception by naming Japan-based flanker Matt Todd as Sam Cane's replacement, with Dane Coles also returning after an injury-riddled year.

Props Nepo Laulala and Joe Moody also return to the squad after injuries limited their seasons to date, while star lock Brodie Retallick and flanker Liam Squire also return.

Lomax is joined by Reuben O'Neill, Gareth Evans, Bryn Hall, Brett Cameron, Matt Proctor and George Bridge as fresh faces in the wider training squad.

The Wallabies take on New Zealand in Tokyo on Saturday November 3, kicking off at 4:45pm AEDT, LIVE on FOX SPORTS.


All Blacks squad for the Spring Tour


Dane Coles

Nathan Harris

Codie Taylor

Owen Franks

Nepo Laulala

Joe Moody

Karl Tu'inukuafe

Ofa Tuungafasi

Scott Barrett

Brodie Retallick

Patrick Tuipulotu

Sam Whitelock

Vaea Fifita

Dalton Papalii

Kieran Read (C)

Ardie Savea

Liam Squire

Matt Todd


TJ Perenara

Aaron Smith

Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi

Beauden Barrett

Damian McKenzie

Richie Mo'unga

Ryan Crotty

Jack Goodhue

Anton Lienert-Brown

Sonny Bill Williams

Jordie Barrett

Rieko Ioane

Waisake Naholo

Ben Smith.

Additional 19-man squad to assemble ahead of the All Blacks' Test against Japan on November 3


Asafo Aumua

Liam Coltman

Tyrel Lomax

Reuben O'Neill

Tim Perry

Angus Ta'avao

Luke Romano

Jackson Hemopo

Gareth Evans

Dillon Hunt

Luke Whitelock.


Mitchell Drummond

Bryn Hall

Brett Cameron

Ngani Laumape

Matt Proctor

George Bridge

David Havili

Nehe Milner-Skudder.