Australian schoolboys squads trimmed ahead of October series

by staff

Australia's schools squads have been trimmed down ahead of October's internationals.

Fifteen of the 23-man Australian Schools squad is from NSW after the state's sides dominated last month's national school championships.

An extended squad was initially named at the end of that tournament but that group was cut back on Friday.

Highly-regarded schoolboys forward Apinesa Driti is one of three ACT players in the squad, while Queensland has supplied five representatives.

Haloti Fonua is the sole Victorian among the Schools and Barbarians squads after the July championships.

The teams will play a series against Tonga and New Zealand in October in Brisbane.

Australia's Barbarians have one more player to add before that series kicks off.


2018 Australian Schools 

Daniel Ala, NSW II, St Augustine’s College

Angus Bell, NSW I, Newington College

Angus Bell, NSW II, St Ignatius College

John Connolly, NSW I, The Kings School

Apinesa Driti, ACT, Gungahlin College 

Donny Freeman, NSW I, Kinross Wolaroi School

Carter Gordon, QLD I, Brisbane Boys College

Will Harris NSW I, The Scots College

Zane Hogan, ACT, St Edmund’s College

Lachlan Ilias, NSW I, Trinity Grammar School

Spencer Jeans, QLD I, The Southport School

Brendan Jimenez, ACT, St Edmund’s College

Tyrell Kopua, QLD I, The Southport School 

Thomas Lambert, NSW I, Trinity Grammar School

Luca Moretti, NSW I, Waverly College

Reesjan Pasitoa, NSW I, St Joseph’s College, Nudgee 

Billy Pollard, NSW I, Barker College

Luke Reimer, NSW I, Barker College

Seb Strang, NSW I, The Scot’s College 

Bailey Tautau, QLD I, St Joseph’s College, Nudgee

Tom van der Schyff, QLD I, The Southport School

Joey Walton, NSW I, Wadalba High School

Jeremy Williams, NSW I, The Scot’s College

2018 Australian Schools Barbarians 

Lachlan Albert, NSW I, St Ignatius College

Jangala Bennett, QLD I, St Joseph’s College, Nudgee

Vincent Creagh, NSW II, St Joseph’s College

Zac Crothers, QLD II, Anglican Church Grammar School

John Downes, QLD I, Marist College, Ashgrove

Lachlan Dring, NSW II, Barker College 

Matthew Dutallis, NSW I, St Ignatius College

Tane Edmed, NSW I, Trinity Grammar School

Fred Fewtrell, QLD I, Anglican Church Grammar School

Haloti Fonua, VIC, Victoria University SC

Harry Fox, QLD II, Padua College

Aiden Kelso, NSW II, Kinross Wolaroi

Matt Minogue, NSW II, The Kings School

Zane Nongorr, QLD I, The Southport School

Zachery Perrin, ACT, Daramalan College 

Will Roach, QLD I, St Joseph’s College, Gregory Terrace

David Tejcek, NSW II, Barker College

Fred Tricks, NSW I, The Scots College

Harry Vella, QLD I, St Joseph’s College, Nudgee

Dennis Waight, QLD I, Brisbane Grammar School

Brett Wellington, CS, The Scot’s College

Jack Winchester, NSW II, Bishop Druitt College, Coffs Harbour

*One additional member to be named in the Australian Schools Barbarians squad


Australian Schools series

 All times AEST

Monday October 1

Australian Schools Barbarians vs New Zealand Schools, 2pm, St Joseph’s, Gregory Terrace 

Australia Schools vs Tonga Schools, 4pm, St Joseph’s, Gregory Terrace 

Saturday October 6 

Australian Schools Barbarians vs Tonga Schools, 3.30pm, Ballymore

Australian Schools vs New Zealand Schools, 5pm, Ballymore