Ireland make five personnel changes for decider

by Sam Phillips

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt has shuffled his starting XV once again, making five personnel changes for the Sydney June series decider.

Two of those changes come in the front row, Jack McGrath and Sean Cronin slotting into the side ahead of Niall Scannell and Cian Healy, who will come off the bench.

The backrow has a new look to it, captain Peter O'Mahony named at openside flanker and CJ Stander shifting to blindside flanker to accommodate the inclusion of Jack Conan at No. 8.

In the backs Robbie Henshaw shifts to outside centre, Bundee Aki named ahead of Garry Ringrose at 12.Jack Conan is a surprise inclusion at No. 8. Photo: Getty ImagesJacob Stockdale has also been recalled in place of Andrew Conway, the Munster star left out of the 23 altogether.

There are changes aplenty on the pine, John Cooney and Joey Carbery replaced by Kieran Marmion and Ross Byrne, respectively.

Rob Herring drops out of the 23 with Scannell to provide cover for Cronin, while John Ryan has been named ahead of Andrew Porter.


Ireland team to face the Wallabies in Sydney

1. Jack McGrath

2. Sean Cronin

3. Tadhg Furlong

4. Devin Toner

5. James Ryan

6. CJ Stander

7. Peter O'Mahony

8. Jack Conan

9. Conor Murray

10. Johnny Sexton

11. Jacob Stockdale

12. Bundee Aki

13. Robbie Henshaw

14. Keith Earls

15. Rob Kearney


16. Niall Scannell

17. Cian Healy

18. John Ryan

19. Tadhg Beirne

20. Jordi Murphy

21. Kieran Marmion

22. Ross Byrne

23. Jordan Lamour