SANZAAR announces 2019 Super Rugby draw

by AAP

The 2019 Super Rugby draw has been announced, with this year's competition still yet to wrap up.

SANZAAR sprung the announcement on Tuesday morning, almost three months earlier than the usual unveiling, with venue details still yet to be confirmed for each match.

The competition will kick off a week earlier next year for Australian teams and run uninterrupted for 21 weeks, with the World Cup to follow the provincial competition.

Aside from those tweaks, the tournament will run similarly to this season's, with a three-conference, 15-team format, with eight finalists including three conference winners and five wildcard teams.

Venues for the fixtures are yet to be confirmed, with a number of teams still to finalise their home venues for next year.

The Waratahs are one of those, with the NSW side still mulling where to take its home games while Allianz Stadium is being refurbished, with options including Parramatta Stadium, the SCG and Brookvale Oval among them.

Next year's tournament will finish on July 6, and will be the beginning of a new era for international rugby, with a global calendar being introduced in 2020 to stop the competition from having to pause for mid-year Test windows.

See the Australian schedule below, and click here for the full draw.


2019 Super Rugby draw - Australian teams

Venues TBC

Round 1

All times AEDT.

Friday February 15

Brumbies vs Rebels,  7:45pm

Saturday February 16

Waratahs vs Hurricanes, 7:45pm

Bye - Reds

Round 2

All times AEDT.

Friday February 22

Highlanders vs Reds, 5:35pm

Saturday February 23

Sunwolves vs Waratahs, 3:15pm

Brumbies vs Chiefs, 7:45pm

Bye - Rebels

Round 3

All times AEDT.

Friday March 1

Hurricanes vs Brumbies, 5:35pm

Rebels vs Highlanders, 7:45pm

Saturday March 2

Reds vs Crusaders, 7:45pm

Bye – Waratahs

Round 4

All times AEDT

Friday March 8

Rebels vs Brumbies, 7:45pm

Saturday March 9

Waratahs vs Reds, 7:45pm

Round 5

All times AEDT

Friday March 15

Brumbies vs Waratahs, 7:45pm

Saturday March 16

Sunwolves vs Reds, 3:15pm

Sunday March 17

Lions vs Rebels, 12:05am

Round 6

 All times AEDT

Saturday March 23

Waratahs vs Crusaders, 7:45pm

Sunday March 24

Sharks vs Rebels, 12:15am

Reds vs Brumbies, 4:05pm 

Round 7

All times AEDT

Friday March 29

Waratahs vs Sunwolves, 7:45pm

Saturday March 30

Reds vs Rebels, 7:45pm 

Round 8

All times AEDT

Friday April 5

Reds vs Stormers, 8pm

Saturday April 6

Crusaders vs Brumbies, 3:15pm

Blues vs Waratahs, 5:35pm

Rebels vs Sunwolves, 7:45pm 

Round 9

All times AEST

Friday April 12

Rebels vs Stormers, 7:45pm

Saturday April 13

Brumbies vs Lions, 7:45pm

Sunday April 14

Bulls vs Reds, 1:15am 

Round 10

All times AEST

Friday April 19

Sharks vs Reds, 11:05pm

Saturday April 20

Waratahs vs Rebels, 7:45pm

Stormers vs Brumbies, 11:05pm 

Round 11

All times AEST

Saturday April 27

Waratahs vs Sharks, 7:45pm

Sunday April 28

Jaguares vs Brumbies, 7:40am 

Byes – Rebels, Reds

Round 12

All times AEST

Friday May 3

Reds vs Sunwolves, 7:45pm

Saturday May 4

Hurricanes vs Rebels, 3:15pm

Brumbies vs Blues, 7:45pm

Bulls vs Waratahs, 11:05pm 

Round 13

All times AEST.

Friday May 10

Rebels vs Reds, 7:45pm

Saturday May 11

Lions vs Waratahs, 11:05pm

Sunday May 12

Brumbies vs Sunwolves, 4:05pm 

Round 14

All times AEST

Friday May 17

Rebels vs Bulls, 7:45pm

Saturday May 18

Reds vs Waratahs, 7:45pm

Bye – Brumbies 

Round 15

All times AEST.

Friday May 24

Chiefs vs Reds, 5:35pm

Brumbies vs Bulls, 7:45pm

Saturday May 25

Sunwolves vs Rebels, 3:15pm

Waratahs vs Jaguares, 7:45pm 

Round 16

All times AEST

Friday May 31

Rebels vs Waratahs, 7:45pm

Saturday June 1

Sunwolves vs Brumbies, 3:15pm

Reds vs Jaguares, 7:45pm 

Round 17

All times AEST

Friday June 7

Reds vs Blues, 7:45pm

Saturday June 8

Crusaders vs Rebels, 5:35pm

Waratahs vs Brumbies, 7:45pm

Round 18

All times AEST.

Friday June 14

Highlanders vs Waratahs, 5:35pm

Rebels vs Chiefs, 7:45pm

Saturday June 15

Brumbies vs Reds, 7:45pm 


Weekend of June 22

Qualifying finals 

Weekend of June 29


Weekend of July 6

Super Rugby final