Haylett-Petty back as Rebels switch it up for Jaguares

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Rebels have made a swathe of changes to their side to take on the Jaguares this weekend.

Rebels coach Dave Wessels has thrown Richard Hardiwck, Sam Talakai, Ross and Dane Haylett-Patty and Geoff Parling into the starting XV, with Jermaine Ainsley, Matt Philip and Lopeti Timani on the bench.

Dane Haylett-Petty is returning from a concussion that ruled him out of the last match-up, against the Hurricanes, a fortnight ago.

Reece Hodge will miss the match with a hamstring strain, pushing Jack Maddocks onto the wing, and Tom English moving back into the centres, alongside Billy Meakes.

Hodge's absence will be his first since round four, 2016, his debut season with the Rebels.

Hardwick and Talakai have been handed their first starts against an unpredictable Jaguares side, that has plenty to prove coming out to Australia.

The Rebels currently sit on top of the Australian Super Rugby conference, one point clear of the Waratahs.

The Rebels take on the Jaguares at AAMI Park on Saturday, kicking off at 3:15pm AEST, LIVE on FOX SPORTS and via RUGBY.com.au RADIO. Buy tickets here.


IN: Geoff Parling, Dane Haylett-Petty

OUT: Reece Hodge, Angus Cottrell

Rebels to face Jaguares

1. Tetera Faulkner

2. Anaru Rangi

3. Sam Talakai

4. Geoff Parling

5. Adam Coleman

6. Ross Haylett-Petty

7. Richard Hardwick

8. Amanaki Mafi

9. Will Genia

10. Jack Debreczeni

11. Marika Koroibete

12. Billy Meakes

13. Tom English

14. Jack Maddocks

15. Dane Haylett-Petty


16. Jordan Uelese

17. Ben Daley

18. Jermaine Ainsley

19. Matt Philip

20. Colby Fainga’a

21. Lopeti Timani

22. Michael Ruru

23. Sefa Naivalu

Jaguares to face the Rebels

1. Santiago Garcia Botta

2. Julian Montoya

3. Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro

4. Guido Petti

5. Tomas Lavanini

6. Pablo Matera

7. Marcos Kremer

8. Javier Ortega Desio

9. Martin Landajo

10. Nicolas Sanchez

11. Sebastian Cancelliere

12. Jeronimo De La Fuente

13. Matias Orlando

14. Ramiro Moyano

15. Emiliano Boffelli


16. Agustin Creevy

17. Javier Diaz

18. Juan Pablo Zeiss

19. Matias Alemanno

20. Leonardo Senatore

21. Gonzalo Bertranou

22. Bautista Ezcurra

23. Joaquin Tuculet