Eyes on league royalty in opening schoolboys Tests

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Some of the world's top schoolboys will be on show on Monday in Sydney but plenty of eyes will be on in-demand back Albert Hopoate.

Hopoate, son of former NRL star John and younger brother of Canterbury's Will, lit up July's national schoolboys championships and headlines the talent to watch as the competition begins on Monday.

Australia will take on Fiji, while the Australian Barbarians will clash with the New Zealand schools, in a tough first outing at Knox Grammar School in Sydney's north

The latter clash will be a chance for some of those players who were overlooked by the national selectors for the main team to push their credentials to scouts across the country.

Australia coach Pat Langtry said Fiji would present a tricky first-up test. 

“Fiji Schools will present a difficult challenge for us tomorrow," he said.

“Fijian players at all levels of rugby will punish you if you make mistakes and can score tries from all over the field. We have to be disciplined and back our systems to ensure that we don’t give them an opportunity to create space out wide.

“The squad is really looking forward to starting our International fixtures for 2017 and continuing the great tradition of the Australian Schoolboys in Sydney.”

Hopoate is not the only Aussie with strong sporting pedigree running out, with Wyll Holland, the younger brother of Aussie Sevens captain Lewi, playing for the Barbarians, among a handful of younger siblings coming through the ranks.

New Zealand accounted for Fiji in the opening match last Thursday, 57-7, while Australia takes on New Zealand on Saturday October 7, at TG Millner Oval.

The Australian Barbarians face off against New Zealand at 1pm AEST, followed by Australian Schools vs Fiji at 3pm AEST, all LIVE on RUGBY.com.au


Australia Schools to play Fiji Schools

1. Angus Bell, Newington College

2. Lachlan Lonergan, Trinity Christian College

3. Darcy Breen, The Scots College

4. Trevor Hosea, Brisbane Boys College

5. Nicholas Frost, Knox Grammar School

6. Charlie Rorke, St Ignatius College, Riverview

7. Kohan Herbert, Downlands College

8. Lachlan Connors, St Patrick's College

9. Seamus Smith, Marist College Canberra

10. Will Harrison (Captain), Marcellin College Randwick

11. Tristan Stanghon, Anglican Church Grammar School

12. Noah Lolesio, The Southport School

13. Jordan Petaia, Brisbane State High School

14. Albert Hopoate, St Augustine's College

15. Ben Donaldson, Waverley College


16. Ciaran Loh, The King's School

17.Bo Abra, St Stanislaus College

18. Finn Wright, Waverley College

19. Harry Wilson, St Joseph’s College, Gregory Terrace

20. Luca Moretti, Waverley College

21. Marco Bell, Waverley College

22. Tom Woodcock, Knox Grammar School

23. Will Lloyd, Barker College

Australia Schools Barbarians to play New Zealand Schools

1.Egan Siggs, The Southport School

2. Oliver Barden, Brighton Grammar School

3. Alex Sa’aga, Melbourne Grammar School

4. Max Douglas, St Augustine’s College

5. Tom Iles, Marist College Canberra

6. Lachlan Osborne, Canberra Grammar School

7. Tom Kibble, Brisbane Boys College

8. Cullen Ngamanu, Brisbane Boys College

9. Phoenix Hunt, St Joseph’s College

10.Campbell Parata, The Southport School

11.Max Dowd, The Southport School

12. Joey Walton, Wadalba Community High School

13. Lincoln Smith, Marist College, Canberra

14. Viliami Lea, Ipswich Grammar School

15. Brendan Jimenez, St Edmund’s College


16. Jack Winchester, Bishop Druitt College

17. Apenisa Driti, Griffith High School

18. Moses Alo-Emile, Brisbane State High School

19. Brody MacKaskill, Aranmore Catholic College

20. Wyll Holland, St Edmund’s College, Canberra

21. Dylan Dowling, Brisbane Boys College

22. William Goddard, Canberra Grammar School

23. Tom Yassmin, The Scots School

New Zealand Schools to take on Australia Barbarians

1. Fatongia Paea, Sacred Heart College

2. Shilo Klein, St Andrew's College

3. George Dyer, St Paul's Collegiate

4. Cullen Grace, Timaru Boys' High School

5. Tupou Vaal, Wesley College

6. Quade Tapsell, Gisborne Boys' High School

7. Josh Southall, St Patrick's College, Silverstream

8. Devon Flanders, Hastings Boys' High School

9. Humphrey Sheild, Napier Boys' High School

10. Lincoln McClutchie, Hastings Boys' High School

11. Leicester Faingaanuku, Nelson College

12. Quinn Tupaea, Hamilton Boys' High School

13. Isaiah Punivai, Christs College

14. Etene Nanai, St Kentigern College

15. Danny Toala, Hastings Boys' High School


16. Abraham Pole, Otago Boys' High School

17. Tamaiti Williams, St Kentigern College

18. Josiah Tavita-Metcalfe, Hastings Boys' High School

19. Charles Alaimalo, Hamilton Boys' High School

20. Jeremiah Mua, Hastings Boys' High School

21. Taufa Funaki, Sacred Heart College

22. Rivez Rechanta, St Kentigern College

23. Tauterangimarie Kapea, Hamilton Boys' High School


2017 International Schoolboy Fixtures (all LIVE on RUGBY.com.au).

Monday October 2, Knox Grammar School

Australian Schools Barbarians vs New Zealand Schoolboys, 1pm AEDT

BMW Australia Schools v Fiji Schools, 3pm AEDT, LIVE streamed on rugby.com.au  

Saturday October 7, TG Millner Oval, Eastwood

Australian Schools Barbarians vs Fiji Schools, 11am AEDT

BMW Australia Schools vs New Zealand Schools, 12:50pm AEDT, LIVE on FOX SPORTS