McMahon returns for Jaguares clash

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Rebels flanker Sean McMahon will play his fourth and final game of the 2017 season, finally fit to face the Jaguares.

McMahon hasn't played since dislocating his wrist against the Crusaders - his third game this season after overcoming consecutive knee and ankle problems.

It will be a vital opportunity for the 22-year-old to push his claims for a return to the Wallabies squad come Rugby Championship time, after the emergence of youngster Richard Hardwick in June.

In what could be his last Rebels game, with the backrower believed to be poised to sign a deal in Japan, McMahon will start at six, combining with Colby Faingaa and Amanaki Mafi.

McMahon's comeback pushes Lopeti Timani to the second row, pairing up with Steve Cummins.

The Rebels, who could be playing the last game of their history without knowing it as the Super Rugby limbo drags on, have made just one other change to their starting team, with Jack Maddocks at fullback.

Centre Mitch Inman will play his 100th Super Rugby game against the Jaguares in his last outing before joining French side Oyonnax.

Rebels coach Tony McGahan said McMahon would be a valuable addition for the Rebels.

“Sean’s return is timely to provide added physically up front against a very strong and powerful Jaguares forward pack,” he said.

“The Jaguares have been impressive in their second season, including a dominant performance in their first outing on Australian soil last weekend against the Waratahs, but we’re hungry to finish the season on a positive note and send off some key players with a win.”

The Rebels take on the Jaguares on Friday night, kicking off at 7:45pm AEST LIVE on FOX SPORTS and via RADIO.


IN: Semisi Tupou, Sean McMahon

OUT: Hugh Sinclair

Rebels to face the Jaguares

1. Toby Smith

2. James Hanson

3. Laurie Weeks

4. Steve Cummins

5. Lopeti Timani

6. Sean McMahon

7. Colby Fainga’a

8. Amanaki Mafi

9. Nic Stirzaker (Captain)

10. Jackson Garden-Bachop

11. Marika Koroibete

12. Reece Hodge

13. Mitch Inman

14. Tom English

15. Jack Maddocks

Extended Reserves (one to be omitted)

Jordan Uelese

Cruze Ah Nau

Fereti Sa’aga

Esei Haangana

Murray Douglas

Ben Meehan

Sione Tuipulotu

Semisi Tupou

Jonah Placid