Top Rebels trio return for Crusaders clash

Super Rugby
by Sam Phillips

Nic Stirzaker, Tom English and Sefa Naivalu headline five changes to the Rebels starting XV that will take on the Crusaders.

Tony McGahan has rolled out an injury depleted outfit all season but this looks to be one of his strongest.

Stirzaker, English and Naivalu all add experience and a touch of class that was severely lacking in those departments against the Waratahs.

The inclusion of Colby Fainga'a has triggered the other changes, as Lopeti Timani shifts to the second row to make room for the flanker.

Culum Retallick will start on the bench as a result of Timani's positional change.


1. Toby Smith

2. James Hanson

3. Tyrel Lomax

4. Steve Cummins

5. Lopeti Timani

6. Sean McMahon

7. Colby Fainga’a

8. Amanaki Mafi

9. Nic Stirzaker (C)

10. Jackson Garden-Bachop

11. Marika Koroibete

12. Reece Hodge

13. Tom English

14. Sefa Naivalu

15. Ben Volavola


16. Siliva Siliva

17. Fereti Sa’aga

18. Laurie Weeks

19. Culum Retallick

20. Hugh Sinclair

21. Ben Meehan

22. Mitch Inman

23. Jonah Placid