Wessels bloods fresh halves for Chiefs clash

Super Rugby
by Sam Phillips

Dave Wessels will blood a new halves pairing on Saturday when the Force take on the Chiefs.

Jono Lance has been rotated to the bench in place of young talent Luke Burton, with Ian Prior lining up at scrumhalf in place of the injured Michael Ruru.

Luke Morahan is back on the left wing ahead of Alex Newsome, while the right side will be flanked by Curtis Rona in Chance Peni's absence (groin).Luke Morahan is back in the starting XV. Photo: Getty ImagesUp front, Ross Haylett-Petty and Lewis Carmichael form a new-look second row, with Matt Philip (foot) and Richie Arnold (calf) both out.

Carmichael will be one of two potential debutants, with Randwick product Mitch Short taking Prior's usual spot on the bench.

Richard Hardwick is also back in the starting XV - Ben McCalman back out due to shoulder soreness.

Francois van Wyk and Brynard Stander are also back on the bench.

The Force host the Chiefs on Saturday night, kicking off at 7:45pm AEST, broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS and on radio at RUGBY.com.au.


IN: Lewis Carmichael, Mitch Short, Francois van Wyk, Luke Morahan, Brynard Stander, Onehunga Havilli

OUT: Ben McCalman, Matt Philip, Chance Peni, Richie Arnold, Michael Ruru,Shambeckler Vui 

Force team to take on the Chiefs

1. Ben Daley

2. Tatafu Polota-Nau

3. Tetera Faulkner

4. Lewis Carmichael

5. Ross Haylett-Petty

6. Isi Naisarani

7. Matt Hodgson (C)

8. Richard Hardwick

9. Ian Prior

10. Luke Burton

11. Luke Morahan

12. Bill Meakes

13. Marcel Brache

14. Curtis Rona

15. Dane Haylett-Petty


16. Heath Tessmann

17. Francois Van Wyk

18. Pek Cowan

19. Onehunga Havilli

20. Brynard Stander

21. Mitch Short

22. Jono Lance

23. Alex Newsome

Chiefs team to face the Force

1. Siegfried Fisi’ihoi

2. Brayden Mitchell

3. Atu Moli

4. Dominic Bird

5. Brodie Retallick

6. Liam Messam

7. Sam Cane

8. Michael Leitch

9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow

10. Aaron Cruden

11. James Lowe

12. Anton Lienert-Brown

13. Sam McNicol

14. Shaun Stevenson

15. Damian McKenzie


16. Hika Elliot

17. Aidan Ross

18. Sosefo Kautai

19. Taleni Seu

20. Lachlan Boshier

21. Finlay Christie

22. Stephen Donald

23. Toni Pulu