Aussie Women add youth for Japan leg of World Series

by Jill Scanlon

Australia's women's sevens side has added some youth for the Japan leg of the 2016-2017 World Series.

Dominique Du Toit, Demi Hayes and Brooke Walker are the new inclusions in the side from Las Vegas, with co-captain Sharni Williams being rested allowing Mahalia Murphy to take on her power role for the fourth leg in Kitakyushu.

In the absence of Williams, Shannon Parry will be taking on the captaincy duties solo in a squad that boasts five players with less than five caps, as coach Tim Walsh continues to develop talent and depth in the squad.

“We’re just over halfway and we are looking forward to finishing the season strongly, but also blooding some younger players and getting their experience up,” Walsh said

“We’ve made a few tactical changes to really bring up some other players in key positions and I’m looking forward to seeing those younger players putting up their hand.”

Australia finished second to New Zealand last month in Las Vegas for the second time this season - a result the team is keen to reverse.


First training in Las Vegas done ✅🤗

A post shared by Georgie Friedrichs (@georgie_friedrichs) on

With three rounds done and three to go, the Aussies are conscious of the need to close the six-point gap on their Kiwi rivals if they are to retain their World Series title.

“We are in a position now where we are really pushing for the title again. We’re just focusing on our job and I think the results will take care of themselves,” Walsh said.

Walsh believes the dynamics of the competition will change in these remaining rounds as some teams will have players returning from XVs duty in the Six Nations campaign.

The blend of youth and experience should combine well but the test will come on the first day of competition with Australia scheduled to face Fijiana, Ireland and Brazil on Day One in Kitakyushu.


Australian Women’s squad, Kitakyushu 7s

IN: Dominique Du Toit, Demi Hayes.

OUT: Sharni Williams.

Shannon Parry (c)

Mahalia Murphy

Chloe Dalton

Demi Hayes

Georgina Friedrichs

Evania Pelite

Charlotte Caslick

Alicia Quirk

Emma Sykes

Brooke Walker

Emilee Cherry

Dominique Du Toit

Ellia Green  


Pool B

Australia vs Brazil, Saturday Aprill 22, 12:36pm AEST

Australia vs Ireland, Saturday April 22, 3:20pm AEST

Australia vs Fiji, Saturday April 22,  6.04pm AEST