Australian youth boys Sevens wider squad announced

by Rugby Australia

The extended squad for the Australian Youth Boys Sevens side has been named ahead of the World School Sevens Championship in New Zealand in December.

Australia are the defending champions after overcoming New Zealand Maori, Samoan Barbarians and New Zealand Fijians to claim the 2016 Championship.

The Australian Youth Boys Sevens squad has established itself as a key step in the development pathway of Rugby Sevens with the program having already produced several contracted Sevens players, including Henry Hutchison, Simon Kennewell, Tate McDermott and Tim Anstee.

Isaac Lucas, brother of Ben, Matt and Tom, will follow in the footsteps of his older brothers by joining the Sevens fold after being named in the Youth Boys Sevens squad. All three of Isaac’s older brothers have played Sevens for Australia while Isaac impressed in the 2016 Youth Boys Sevens side.

It also runs in the family for St Augustine’s College (NSW) student Kieren Mundine, with cousin Anthony having represented New South Wales in Rugby League before starting a successful boxing career.

Anthony Mundine's cousin Kieren has been selected. Photo: Getty Images.Qantas Australian Men’s Head Coach Andy Friend said: “This squad highlights some of the best upcoming talent coming through the Australian Rugby pathway and it is a great that these players are using Sevens as their pathway to elite Rugby.

“Qualifying for the Youth Olympic Games will be the eventual goal of this squad and we look forward to seeing how these players grow and develop at the upcoming camps.”

The squad will have three camps in 2017 before the team departs for New Zealand in December.

2017 Australian Youth Boys Rugby Sevens Squad: 

Jackson Pugh, WA

Lua Koiatu, WA

Luke Kapene, WA

Billy Smith, NSW

Jacob Styles, NSW

Kieren Mundine, NSW

Triston Reilly, NSW

Will Harrison, NSW

Matt Stead, NSW

Jonny Mitsias, NSW

Dominic Easy, NSW

Isaac Henry, QLD

Jeral Skelton, QLD

Shea Lalagavesi, QLD

Quinton Mahina, QLD

Sam Warner, QLD

Joe Small, QLD

Tom Gilbert QLD

Josh Vuta, QLD

Tiko Twist, QLD

Deon Evans, NSW

Blake Clayton, NSW

Jordan Williams, NSW

Darren Caulten, NT

Jangala  Bennet, QLD

Hamiso Tabuai, QLD

Allan Tuigamala NSW

Tom Woodcock, NSW

Tom Haddad, ACT

Isaac Crowe, ACT

Mila (Milavinera) Lalatoa, VIC

Ratu (Sam) Tuibua, VIC

Haloti Fonua Jnr, VIC

Atunaisa Bosenavulagi, VIC

Lisiate Finau, NSW

Isaac Lucas, QLD

Rory Illman, SA

Coach: Hugh Carpenter, Australian Sevens