Brumbies announce strong squad for Brisbane Tens

by Tom Logan

The Brumbies are bringing their big guns to the Brisbane Tens, naming a 26-man squad for the tournament.

Selected in the squad is the electrifying Tevita Kuridrani who will be full of confidence after his four-try haul in the Wallabies 2016 spring tour, leading a list of eight capped Wallabies and nine internationals, with Argentinian scrumhalf Tomas Cubelli also in the team.

Henry Speight, Scott Sio, Kyle Godwin, Allan Alaalatoa round out the current Wallabies in the squad, while capped hooker Saia Fainga’a has also been named.

Brumbies coach Stephen Larkham will be one of the club’s two wildcards for the tournament, with former Wallaby Andrew Walker the other, inclusions the Brumbies confirmed last week.

“We’re looking forward to the task that is ahead of us and it’s sure to be a great competition,” Larkham said.

"I was a bit nervous when I told the team that I would be playing so I will now have to get back into the gym."

"With only two trial matches ahead of the Tens competition we want to make sure we get some beneficial playing time ahead of the coming Super Rugby season."
Stephen Larkham and Andrew Walker have been named as wildcards for the tournament. Photo: ACT Brumbies media unit.Canberra products Joe Powell, Jordan Jackson-Hope and Tom Staniforth will be looking to make an impression in Brisbane ahead of the 2017 Super Rugby season, after promising NRC campaigns.

The Brumbies will face the Highlanders, Toulon and South Africa’s Blue Bulls in the group stage of the tournament, which will form a crucial part of their preseason after trials in Canberra and Mudgee.


ACT Brumbies Brisbane Tens

Henry Speight

Tevita Kuridrani

Kyle Godwin 

Tomàs Cubelli

Tom Banks

Scott Sio

Nic Jooste

Joe Powell

Andrew Smith

Lausii Taliauli

Aidan Toua

Jordan Jackson-Hope

Robbie Abel

Allan Alaalatoa

Chris Alcock

Jarrad Butler

Tom Staniforth

Blake Enever

Saia Faingaa

Lolo Fakaosilea

Ben Hyne

Leslie Leulua'iali'i-Makin

Nic Mayhew

Jordan Smiler

Stephen Larkham (wildcard)

Andrew Walker (wildcard)

The Brumbies kick off their home Super Rugby campaign against the Durban Sharks at GIO Stadium on Saturday March 4. Memberships can be purchased at