Caslick crowned Women's Sevens Player of the Year

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Australia's Charlotte Caslick has been crowned the world's best women's Sevens player at Sunday night's World Rugby awards.

Caslick, who starred for Australia throughout the 2016-17 season, beat out Kiwi Portia Woodman and England's Emily Scarratt for the award in her second consecutive year of being nominated.

The 21-year-old follows in the footsteps of teammate Emilee Cherry in being named the world's best in any given year, with the achievement capping off a World Series title and an Olympic gold medal.

Caslick grabbed international headlines with her performance at Rio, starring throughout the historic campaign.

"From the age of 17 to now 21, Charlotte has matured into the world's best player," he said.

"She is responsible for branding Women's Sevens Rugby with a flare, strength and a feminine touch.

"A ruthless competitor with a relentless work ethic and possessing a mental toughness that only comes from being the best, Charlotte has consistently performed at a World Class level for over three years." 

Caslick has had an exceptional 2016. Photo: Getty ImagesCaslick had already won Australia's top women's sevens gong - the Shawn Mackay Award - this season.

World Rugby award winners

Men's Player of the Year: Beauden Barrett (NZL)

Women's Player of the Year: Sarah Hunter (ENG)

Team of the Year: New Zealand

Coach of the Year: Steve Hansen (NZL)

Breakthrough Player of the Year: Maro Itoje (ENG)

Men's Sevens Player of the Year: Seabelo Senatla (RSA)

Women's Sevens Player of the Year: Charlotte Caslick (AUS)

Referee Award:  Alhambra Nievas (ESP) and Rasta Rasivhenge (RSA)

Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service:  Syd Millar

Award for Character - Rugby Opens Borders, Austrian Rugby Union IRPA Special Merit Award:  Jean de Villiers (RSA)

IRPA Try of the Year: Jamie Heaslip (IRL) against Italy in the Six Nations

Olympic recognition: Fiji and Australia