Force aiming to shake up conference

Super Rugby
Matt Lewis Profile
by Matt Lewis

The Western Force have made just the two changes to their starting side for their clash against the Brumbies in Canberra.

Flanker Angus Cottrell will miss the game after picking up an injury in their last start against the Stormers with Brynard Stander to pull on the number six jersey while Ian Prior got the nod at scrumhalf over Ryan Louwrens.

In what has been an underwhelming season for the Force, they could have a strong say in the final make-up of the Australian conference, if they beat the Brumbies or deny them the bonus point on Saturday night.

“The Brumbies obviously have a lot to play for this week but we aren’t worried about that, we just want to look at what we are doing,” Interim Head Coach Dave Wessels said.

“Over the last two weeks the effort and intent has been there but lapses in key moments have hurt us, we know that if we can execute for 80-minutes we will be able to get the job done.”

Luke Morahan will keep the captain’s armband for their final game of the season after being elevated to the leadership role last week when Pek Cowan and Dane Haylett-Petty were stood down.

The Brumbies are aiming to become the first Australian team in the Super Rugby era to win all of their conferences matches and have won eight of their last ten against the Force. 

Western Force team to face the Brumbies, Saturday 7:45pm AEST at GIO Stadium

1. Pek Cowan

2. Harry Scoble

3. Guy Millar

4. Ross Haylett-Petty

5. Rory Walton

6. Brynard Stander

7. Chris Alcock

8. Richard Hardwick

9. Ian Prior

10. Jono Lance

11. Luke Morahan (c)

12. Kyle Godwin

13. Ben Tapuai

14. Marcel Brache

15. Dane Haylett-Petty


16. Anaru Rangi

17. Francois van Wyk

18. Jermaine Ainsley

19. Matt Phillip

20. Kane Koteka

21. Ryan Louwrens

22. Peter Grant

23. Semisi Masirewa