Holmes to get Suncorp swansong

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Reds captain James Slipper will not play the final Super Rugby match of the year, after failing to overcome a sternum injury, but a handful of Reds including veteran Greg Holmes will get a Suncorp farewell.

Slipper went off early in the Reds' match against the Chiefs last weekend with the injury, that he said he'd been carrying for some weeks.

Departing flanker Liam Gill will captain the side in Slipper's absence, in his last game for heading to Toulon. 

Slipper's front row teammate, Holmes, will get a Suncorp Stadium swansong, named in his final match for the reds after 12 years at the club, ahead of a move to English side Exeter.

Holmes is the most-capped Queensland Reds player in Super Rugby history and second on the overall Queensland tally behind Sean Hardman.

James Slipper has been ruled out with injury. Photo: Getty ImagesLittle known back Tom Banks will make his run-on debut with Jack Tuttle ruled out with a shoulder injury, after just two starts with the Reds.

Curtis Browning, Saia Fainga'a and Ben Daley will have their final chance to say goodbye to Suncorp as well, with the latter pair named to come off the bench after battling injuries for much of the year, while Michael Gunn replaces Leroy Houston on the bench.

“This is an important match for everyone in the team. It’s the last time some of these guys will get to pull on the Queensland jersey and they’re desperate to finish their time off with a performance we can all be proud of," co-coach Nick Stiles said.

“It’s been a tough season, but we’ve had great support from the Queensland faithful all year and it would mean a lot if we can see them leave the stadium with a smile on their face and some reward for their passion.”  

Queensland Reds team to take on the Melbourne Rebels at Suncorp Stadium on Friday night, 7:45pm AEST LIVE on FOXSPORTS

1. Sef Fa’agase

2. Andrew Ready

3. Greg Holmes

4. Cadeyrn Neville

5. Kane Douglas

6. Hendrik Tui

7. Liam Gill (C)

8. Curtis Browning

9. Nick Frisby

10. Duncan Paia’aua

11. Eto Nabuli

12. Henry Taefu

13. Samu Kerevi

14. Chris Kuridrani

15. Tom Banks (run-on debut)


16. Saia Fainga’a

17. Ben Daley

18. Taniela Tupou

19. Lukhan Tui

20. Michael Gunn

21. James Tuttle

22. Alex Gibbon

23. Campbell Magnay