NRC: Vikings and Spirit name sides for clash in Perth

Sun, 08/11/2015, 01:00 pm
Rugby Australia
by Rugby Australia

The University of Canberra Vikings have made a number of changes to the side for Saturday’s Buildcorp National Rugby Championship match against the Perth Spirit.

There are nine changes to the 23-man side from the one that defeated the Greater Sydney Rams 58-26 last week at Viking Park.

Three players, Dean Oakman-Hunt, Frankie Fainifo and Aidan Toua will make their starting debut for the UC Vikings while Albert Anae, Gareth Clouston and Tyrel Lomax will be making their NRC debut for the side from the bench.

For Anae, it will be his first match on Australian soil since linking with the Brumbies and UC Vikings from Italian club Benetton Treviso. For Clouston, it will be a chance to impress after training with the UC Vikings in 2014 and 2015 and captaining his club side Tuggeranong to this year’s John I Dent Cup Grand Final.

As for Lomax, the match will be his first in the NRC. The son of former Canberra Raiders hard-man John Lomax represented the Australian U20 side earlier this year and has impressed in his two outings for the ACT Griffins in 2015, crossing for two tries.

The UC Vikings currently sit in third on the competition ladder with two wins and two bonus points to start the season.

The Vikings take on the Perth Spirit at the University of WA on Saturday at 3:30pm (WA time).

Perth Spirit v UC Vikings, Saturday 12 September 2015

Canberra Vikings 

1. Allan Alaalatoa

2.Robbie Abel

3.Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin

4.Jordan Smiler

5. Blake Enever

6.Dean Oakman-Hunt

7.Jarrad Butler (c)

8.Ita Vaea

9.Joe Powell

10. Rodney Iona

11. Lausii Taliauli

12. James Dargaville

13. Nigel Ah Wong

14.Francis Fainifo

15. Aidan Toua


16. Albert Anae

17. Sione Taula

18. Tyrel Lomax

19. Rowan Perry

20. Gareth Clouston

21. Brent Hamlin

22. Mitch Third

23. Jerome Niumata

Hard running back rower Angus Cottrell, will captain the Perth Spirit for the first time this year in the round four clash against the UC Canberra Vikings at McGillivray Oval on Saturday, 12 September. 

The Perth based team is still trying for their first win of the Buildcorp National Rugby Championship (NRC) season and have their work cut out for them, with the Vikings sitting second on the table after back-to-back wins.

Perth Spirit 

1. Francois van Wyk

2. Anaru Rangi

3. Tetera Faulkner

4. Adrian Hall

5. Ross Haylett-Petty

6. Alex Rovira

7. Kane Koteka

8. Angus Cottrell (C)

9. Ryan Louwrens

10. Luke Burton

11. Brad Lacey

12. Solomoni Rasolea

13. Ammon Matuauto

14. Maalonga Konelio

15. Daley Harper


16. Conan Houkamau

17. Joe Savage

18. Oliver Hoskins

19. Riley Winter

20. Auega Seumanutafa 

21. Michael Ruru

22. Nick Jooste 

23. Davis Tavita 

Share Logo

The are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.