Pocock returns to new-look Brumbies side

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

David Pocock will make his return to the Brumbies side this weekend, but it's just the tip of the iceberg of changes.

Pocock, who has served a two-match suspension for grabbing the neck of Chiefs number eight Michael Leitch, forces Jarrad Butler to the number eight spot.

Brumbies co-captain Stephen Moore will miss the match after corking his calf in the Brumbies' loss to the Crusaders last weekend, giving Josh Mann-Rea a starting opportunity.

Winger Joe Tomane (knee) has been replaced by Nigel ah Wong in the starting side, giving rookie James Dargaville a spot on the bench.

Allan Alaalatoa has forced his way into the starting side, with incumbent Wallabies loosehead Scott Sio back to the bench for the Highlanders clash, while tighthead Ben Alexander will miss the match with the franchise managing his workload, replaced by Ruan Smith in his first start of the season.

Young lock Tom Staniforth has forced his way into the starting side as well, pushing Rory Arnold to the pine, while fellow second rower Blake Enever will return from injury off the bench.

The Brumbies take on the Highalnders in Invercargill at 3:15pm AEST Saturday, LIVE on FOXSPORTS.

1. Allan Alaalatoa                                 

2. Josh Mann-Rea                

3. Ruan Smith                                        

4. Tom Staniforth                                 

5. Sam Carter                                         

6. Scott Fardy                                        

7. David Pocock                                    

8. Jarrad Butler     

9. Tomás Cubelli                                   

10. Christian Lealiifano (c)                   

11. Robbie Coleman                                              

12. Matt Toomua                                   

13. Tevita Kuridrani                               

14. Nigel Ah Wong                                 

15. Aidan Toua        


16. Robbie Abel

17. Scott Sio

18. Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin

19. Rory Arnold

20. Blake Enever

21. Jordan Smiler

22. Joe Powell

James Dargaville