Force big names return

Super Rugby
Matt Lewis Profile
by Matt Lewis

Luke Morahan and Ben McCalman return to the Western Force starting XV for their clash against 2015 Super Rugby Champions the Highlanders. 

In the final match of their three-week New Zealand tour, McCalman has been named at No.8 and Morahan will play on the right wing after recovering from a foot injury. 

Force head coach Michael Foley will be wary of the Highlanders attack after their impressive start to the season. 

“The Highlanders play tough, smart rugby. Last week, they had one line break, but scored four tries, which is an indicator of how they vary their attack with ball in hand and kicking,” he said. 

“The key for us is to consistently apply pressure across 80 minutes.”

“We asked good questions in the first half last week and created some good scoring opportunities, but we need to ensure we put ourselves in a position to keep attacking for the full game.”

The Western Force will play the Highlanders at 5:35pm AEDT on Friday, live on FOX SPORTS. 


1. Pekahou Cowan

2. Heath Tessmann

3. Tetera Faulkner

4. Ross Haylett-Petty

5. Adam Coleman

6. Angus Cottrell

7. Matt Hodgson (C)

8. Ben McCalman

9. Alby Mathewson

10. Peter Grant

11. Semisi Masirewa

12. Solomoni (Junior) Rasolea

13. Ben Tapuai

14. Luke Morahan

15. Dane Haylett-Petty


16. Nathan Charles 

17. Chris Heiberg

18. Jermaine Ainsley

19. Sitiveni (Steve) Mafi

20. Richard Hardwick

21. Ryan Louwrens

22. Ian Prior

23. Albert Nikoro