Foley headlines Waratahs changes

Super Rugby
by staff

The Waratahs back line will have a familiar look to it this weekend, with fly half Bernard Foley headlining a swathe of changes. 

Foley will reunite with Kurtley Beale against the Reds, with Beale returning to 12 and youngster David Horwitz moving to the bench.

Former NRL flyer Reece Robinson has done enough to impress Waratahs coach Daryl Gibson, earning his run-on debut.

The forwards have had more of a change, with Jack Dempsey injected into the back row.

Dempsey will be part of one of NSW's youngest back row combinations, with captain Michael Hooper and number 8 Jed Holloway.

Holloway has a chance to entrench himself into the starting team after a hat-trick cameo off the bench against the Highlanders 

Club captain Dave Dennis will shift to the locks for the game, with regular starting lock Will Skelton left out.


1. Paddy Ryan 

2. Tolu Latu 

3. Angus Ta’avao 

4. Dean Mumm 

5. David Dennis 

6. Jack Dempsey 

7. Michael Hooper 

8. Jed Holloway 

9. Nick Phipps 

10. Bernard Foley 

11. Zac Guildford

12. Kurtley Beale

13. Rob Horne 

14. Reece Robinson 

15. Israel Folau 


16. Hugh Roach 

17. Benn Robinson 

18. Tom Robertson

19. Sam Lousi 

20. Wycliff Palu 

21. Matt Lucas

22. David Horwitz 

23. Matt Carraro