Wallabies return for Waratahs

by RUGBY.com.au

The Waratahs have added a host of Wallabies to their side for this Friday’s trial against the Chiefs.

While Bernard Foley and Israel Folau are still a week away, NSW will include World Cup players Nick Phipps, Kurtley Beale, Rob Horne, Dean Mumm, Tatafu Polota-Nau and Michael Hooper into their side for the first time in 2016.

Hooper will lead the side for the first time since being handed the permanent team captaincy, lining up at openside flanker.

Beale will be donning the 10 for the trial in Foley’s absence, while Rob Horne will have his first outing for the year in the centres, starting at 13.

New recruits reece Robinson and Zac Guildford have retained a wing and fullback spot, respectively, after impressing in their clash against the Brumbies in Wagga.

Matt Carraro will partner Robinson on the wing, while rookie David Horwitz will remain at inside

Club captain Dave Dennis will miss the game, still feeling the effects of a concussion he suffered in the opening minutes of their first trial.

NSW coach Daryl Gibson said the two-week trip to new Zealand ,that also includes a match against the Highlanders, will be a challenge.

“Away games are obviously a bit tougher, but the trip to New Zealand will only stand us in good stead,” he said.

“Being in each other’s company for 10 days touring together will also provide a good opportunity to grow the bonds between us.”

The NSW Waratahs team to take on the Chiefs this Friday at Rotorua International Stadium :

1.    Jeremy Tilse

2.    Tatafu Polota-Nau

3.    Angus Ta’avao

4.    Dean Mumm

5.    Will Skelton

6.    Jack Dempsey

7.    Michael Hooper (C)

8.    Brad Wilkin

9.    Nick Phipps

10.    Kurtley Beale

11.    Matt Carraro

12.    David Horwitz

13.    Rob Horne

14.    Reece Robinson

15.    Zac Guildford


16.    Tolu Latu

17.    Benn Robinson

18.    Paddy Ryan

19.    Senio Toleafoa

20.    Ned Hanigan

21.    Matt Lucas

22.    Bryce Hegarty

23.    Andrew Kellaway

24.    Jake Gordon

25.    Harry Jones

28. Hugh Roach

29. Matt Sandell