Australian Under 20s name side for battle for fifth place against Six Nations Champions

by staff

The Australian Under 20s side to take on France in the Fifth Place Final of the IRB Junior World Championship tomorrow has been named with Head Coach Adrian Thompson backing his side to topple the Junior Six Nations Champions.

Australia has won four games at the IRB Junior World Championship on only one other occasion, back in 2008 where a side that included Quade Cooper and David Pocock made it to the final against England.

The current Australian team has had wins against Argentina, Italy and Samoa, and only one loss in the tournament, to Junior World Championship finalists, England.

Finishing in fifth place is crucial for the Australian Under 20s to gain a good seeding for their 2015 campaign.

Australian winger Andrew Kellaway, who is currently the tournament’s leading try-scorer, will take the record for the most tries scored in an IRB Junior World Championship if he can score one more try in tomorrow’s match. Kellaway currently has eight tries to his name, equal to former All Black, Zac Guildford, and current New Zealand International, Julian Savea.

Australian Head Coach Adrian Thompson was confident his side could finish the tournament on a high.

“It’s been a great week for us in terms of training and preparation and I know the guys are excited about taking on France.”

“For our development, it is really important we beat the top northern hemisphere sides and this is an achievement we are yet to tick off in the tournament.

“France has had two tough encounters against Wales and I’m confident the squad we have selected can finish the tournament on a winning note.”

The Australian Under 20s take on France tomorrow at 12.35pm AEST at Eden Park in Auckland with the match to be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS.

Australian Under 20s:

1. Rory O’Connor

2. Harry Scoble

3. Allan Alaalatoa

4. Tom Staniforth

5. Jack Payne

6. Sean McMahon (c)

7. Jack Dempsey

8. Ross Haylett-Petty

9. Angus Pulver

10. Jake McIntyre

11. Andrew Kellaway

12. Jimmy Stewart

13. Lalakai Foketi

14. Brad Lacey

15. Jonah Placid


16. Tevita Vea

17. Cameron Orr

18. Tom Robertson

19. Matt Philip

20. Rowan Perry

21. Joe Powell

22. David Horwitz

23. Luke Burton