Will Genia leads race for DHL Lions Tour Man of The Series Award

by RUGBY.com.au staff

The Tom Richards Cup won’t be the only prize up for grabs in the third Test between the Qantas Wallabies and the British & Irish Lions on Saturday night, with the hotly contested DHL Man of the Series also on the line.

Qantas Wallabies stars Will Genia and Israel Folau lead two British & Irish Lions backs in the race to be named DHL Man of the Series for the DHL Australia 2013 Lions Tour.

Six media representatives from the UK, Ireland and Australia are selected for each Test to cast their votes for the three leading players on a 3-2-1 basis.

Those votes can involve any mix of Qantas Wallabies and British & Irish Lions players.

After two Tests, Qantas Wallabies scrum half Genia is the only player from either side to have polled in both matches.

Named Man of the Match in Australia’s second Test win in Melbourne last Saturday night, Genia has a total of 19 votes heading into the series deciding showdown at ANZ Stadium on Saturday night.

Qantas Wallabies winger Folau is in second spot on 13 votes after edging out his British & Irish Lions rival George North for Man of the Match honours in the opening Test at Suncorp Stadium on June 22.

North and Lions fullback Leigh Halfpenny are equal third on the progressive points score with 11 votes apiece, followed by injured Lions skipper Sam Warburton on 7.

Warburton will play no part in the third Test on Saturday night after damaging a hamstring in the Lions’ Melbourne loss.

Ten players – six Qantas Wallabies and four Lions – have secured points in the opening two Tests.

A further 36 points – and a maximum of 18 points for any individual – are up for grabs in the DHL Man of the Series award on Saturday night, with a presentation to be made post-match.

DHL Man of the Series Award (Progressive after two Tests):

1. Will Genia 19

2. Israel Folau 15

3. Leigh Halfpenny 11

4. George North 11

5. Sam Warburton 7

6. Benn Robinson 3

7. Jonathan Sexton 2

8. Adam Ashley-Cooper 2

9. Christian Leali’ifano 1

10. James O’Connor 1