NSW I wins Novotel Australian Schools Rugby Championship

Mon, 08/07/2013, 02:00 am
RUGBY.com.au staff
by RUGBY.com.au staff

Two NSW teams fought out the final of the Australian Schools Championship in Sydney on Saturday, with defending Champions NSW I defeating NSW II at St Ignatius College, Riverview.

In advancing to the title decider, the two NSW sides ended Queensland’s highly-impressive record of 10 successive years of finals appearances.

A well-attended last day crowd of around 2,000 witnessed a NSW I victory by 20-12 to claim the Novotel Australian Schools Rugby Championships Division I BH Jika Sir Edward Travers Shield.

NSW I scored early through Andrew Kellaway, his try under the posts following a clever offload from Andrew Deegan. Harry Jones converted, and later added a second try for NSW I to open up a 12-0 advantage.

NSW II fought back in the opening minutes of the second half, with Joey Lussick scoring and converting his own try to cut the deficit to five points.

A second try to Kellaway eased the pressure on NSW I, with the score stretching to 20-7 before Elliot Jennings grabbed the last try of the match for NSW II tot ake the score to 20-12.

NSW I retained the BH ‘Jika’ Travers Shield while runners-up NSW II secured the Sir Edward ‘Weary’ Dunlop Shield.

In other Division 1 playoffs, Qld I defeated QLD II 17-7 to finish third, Combined States defeated Victoria 33-14 to finish fifth and ACT beat WA 8-6 to claim seventh.

In Division 2, Lloyd McDermott RDT (Indigenous) took out the top spot receiving the Charles Blunt Cup, with South Australia runners-up receiving the Merv Allen Plate.

Following strong performances from a number of players throughout the Championships the Australian Schoolboys and Australia A sides have been named to face the New Zealand and Fiji in a tri-nations program later this year.

Australia A faces the New Zealand Schools on Tuesday 1 October at 1pm and Fiji Schools on Saturday 5 October at 3pm.

The Australian Schoolboys will meet New Zealand on Tuesday 1 October at 2.30pm and Fiji Schools on Saturday 5 October at 5pm.

All matches are to be played at Knox Grammar School.


NSW I 20 def. NSW II 12

NSW I tries - Andrew Kellaway (2), Harry Jones

NSW I conversion – Jones

NSW I penalty goals - Jones

NSW II try – Joey Lussick, Elliot Jennings

NSW II conversion – Lussick

Third-place playoff:

Qld I 17 def. Qld II 7

Qld I tries - Maclean Jones, Evander Guttenbeil, Brad Wilkin

Qld I conversions - Mitchell Third

QLD II tries - Jake Lyon

QLD II conversion – Henry Devine

Fifth-place playoff:

Combined States 33 def. Vic 14

CS tries - Angus Fowler, Adrian Delore, Olly Kamp, Alitasi Tuituioho, Sione Mapitoa

CS conversion - Delore (2), Mapitoa, Christian Kagiassis

Vic tries - George Stewart, Nick Gillies

Vic conversion - Patola Toeta (2)

Seventh-place playoff:

ACT 8 def. WA 6

ACT tries - Jason Toumane

ACT penalty goals - Thomas Evans

WA penalty goals - Hershelle Classen, Tim Koiatu

DIVISION II – Round Robin

National Indigenous 66 def. NT 5

NI tries – David Green, Trae O’Neill, Connor Watson (3), Isiah Huet, Joseph Wilson, Michael Doolan, Nicholas Duncan, Isaiah Enriquez

NI conversions – Trae O’Neill (4), Nicholas Duncan (3)

NT try - Ian Manolis

SA 41 def. Tas 0

SA try - Will Marschallek, Giuseppe Focarelli (2), Rhys Gurd, Brendan Crause, Chris Hodgson, Liam Wall

SA conversions - Focarelli, Hodgson (2)

Australian Schools to play:


Knox Grammar School, Wahroonga

Tuesday 1 October at 2.30pm

New Zealand

Knox Grammar School

Saturday 5 October at 5.00pm

Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.