Australian Sevens: what's next?

by staff

Our men’s and women’s sevens teams have qualified for the Olympics, so what’s next for the sides?

Both teams will kick off their 2015-16 World Series campaigns in Dubai next month, with the opening tournament running from December 4-5.

From there, the men’s world series consists of 10 rounds, including next February’s Sydney sevens.

Under a new head coach, set to be appointed early in 2016, Australia’s men’s sevens will play in Cape Town, Wellington, Las Vegas, Vancouver, Hong Kong, Singapore, Paris and London.

The women’s side plays a shortened series in 2016, with just four rounds with Sao Paulo, Atlanta and Langford rounding out the tournaments.

The Olympic competition will be played over six days, kicking off on the second day of the event with both our men’s and women’s teams vying to be the first gold medallist in sevens.

Currently, Australia’s women’s side is ranked third in the world while the men’s finished fifth in the 2015 World Series.

The Olympics will be the first multi-event tournament to feature both men’s and women’s sevens, with the latter not included in the Commonwealth Games until 2018.

Australia’s men have medalled three times in the Commonwealth Games, with two bronze and one silver medal over five games.

They finished third at the 2014 Glasgow games and will be looking to better that come August next year.


Dubai - 4-5 December

Cape Town - 12-13 December

Wellington - 30-31 January

Sydney - 6-7 February

Las Vegas - 4-6 March

Hong Kong - 8-10 April

Singapore - 16-17 April

Paris - 14-15 May

London - 20-22 May


Dubai - 3-4 December

Sao Paulo - 20-21 February

Atlanta - 8-9 April

Langford - 16-17 April


August 5 - August 21 (Sevens 6-11 August)