Wallabies squad players released for World XV match against Japan

by RUGBY.com.au staff

Qantas Wallabies squad members Sean McMahon, Christian Lealiifano, Nick Cummins and Taqele Naiyaravoro have been released from training duties to participate in the World XV match against Japan in Tokyo.

With the departure of McMahon and Lealiifano from camp, NSW Waratahs Captain David Dennis and Queensland Reds rising star Samu Kerevi will join the 30-man Wallabies squad today as the Wallabies prepare for their upcoming match against New Zealand in Auckland.

In total there will be 14 Australian internationals joining the World XV squad this week, with players searching for valuable game time before Rugby World Cup selection later this month.

Qantas Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika said: “We've travelled with an extended squad throughout the 2015 international season, so it's good for the players to get some quality game time in against a strong opponent like Japan."

“David and Samu have spent some time with us throughout our campaign this season, and we are looking forward to seeing their progress.”

30-Man Qantas Wallabies Squad for Bledisloe Cup match on Saturday, 15 August at Eden Park, Auckland.

Adam Ashley-Cooper - VC (Waratahs)

Kurtley Beale (Waratahs)

Quade Cooper (Reds)

David Dennis (Waratahs)

Scott Fardy (Brumbies)

Israel Folau (Waratahs)

Bernard Foley (Waratahs)

Matt Giteau (Toulon)

Greg Holmes (Reds)

Michael Hooper - VC (Waratahs)

James Horwill (Reds)

Sekope Kepu (Waratahs)

Samu Kerevi* (Reds)

Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies)

Stephen Moore - C (Brumbies)

Drew Mitchell (Toulon)

Ben McCalman (Force)

Dean Mumm (Waratahs)

Wycliff Palu (Waratahs)

Nick Phipps (Waratahs)

David Pocock (Brumbies)

Tatafu Polota-Nau (Waratahs)

Scott Sio (Brumbies)

Will Skelton (Waratahs)

James Slipper (Reds)

Toby Smith* (Rebels)

Henry Speight (Brumbies)

Matt Toomua (Brumbies)

Joe Tomane (Brumbies)

Nic White (Brumbies)


Australian Super Rugby and Wallabies players in World XV to play the Cherry Blossoms on Saturday August 15 at Prince Chichibu Memorial Rugby Ground in Tokyo.

World XV Backs

James O’Connor (Reds)

Luke Burgess (Rebels)

Nick Cummins (Western Force)

Mike Harris (Rebels)

Christian Lealiifano (Brumbies)

Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs)

Dom Shipperley (Rebels)

Ben Tapuai (Force)

World 15 Forwards

Ben Alexander (Brumbies)

Liam Gill (Reds)

Luke Jones (Rebels)

Tolu Latu (Waratahs)

Sean McMahon (Rebels)

Benn Robinson (Waratahs)