NSW I and Queensland I to compete for schools final

by RUGBY.com.au staff

The traditional rivalry between NSW I and Queensland I will continue at the 41st Australian Schools Rugby Championship as both sides have progressed to the final to be held at St Ignatius College Riverview, Saturday 4 July.

In action on day four of the Championship South Australia earned an impressive win against the Northern Territory, defeating the side 43-12.

In game 12, the ACT had a close battle with combined states. Despite momentum swinging between the two sides throughout the match, the ACT emerged victorious, scoring three tries to Combined States’ two.

The Lloyd McDermott Rugby Development Team earned a dominant win against Tasmania, running rampant to score 106 points. The “Lloydies” side had shown plenty of promise throughout the Championship and put together a comprehensive performance across all facets of the game to claim the win.

In game 14 it was a battle between east and west as Victorian Schools took on Western Australian Schools. Both sides went into the match hungry for victory but it was the Victorian side that won the day 36-24 in the competitive affair. Victoria scored six tries to ultimately out pace Western Australia, with the backs creating defensive headaches for Western Australia.

In the interstate derby NSW I defeated Queensland II 31-11, with young flyhalf Harrison Goddard of Oakhill College in Sydney kicking four penalties, two conversions and scoring a try.

The final day’s fixtures will see the top Queensland and NSW sides battle it out for the Championship.

Saturday 4 July:

9:00am Combined States v Western Australia

10:15am ACT v Victoria

11:30 am NSW II v QLD II

12:45pm QLD I v NSW I (Championship Final)