Cheika names Barbarians team for Argentina

by staff

Four capped Wallabies will start in Michael Cheika’s Barbarians team to play Argentina on Sunday morning (AEDT) at Twickenham.

Australia captain Stephen Moore will line up at hooker in the match, which will celebrate the Barbarians’ 125th Anniversary.

Moore headlines a host of Wallabies players in the squad, with Tevita Kuridrani at outside centre, Scott Fardy at blindside and Stephen Hoiles at number eight.

Fardy and Moore both came off the bench in the side’s first match, against Gloucester, this week.

Hooker James Hanson, prop Toby Smith, winger Joe Tomane and back rower Jarrad Butler round out the Australian contingent among the squad.

The Barbarians’ back line is an intimidating one with All Black winger Nehe Milner-Skudder lining up at fullback, with Waisake Naholo on one wing and Fijian destroyer Nemani Nadolo on the other.

Lima Sopoaga wil play fly half, teaming up with Tawera Kerr Barlow at scrum half.

Sprinbok legend Victor Matfield will again captain the side, after leading the team against Gloucester on Tuesday.

The fusion side will face a difficult proposition against Los Pumas, who have named a team that includes a number of their World Cup leaders.

The Argentinians will be captained by scrumhalf Martin Landajo, with Nicolas Sanchez at flyhalf.

The Barbarians vs Argentina will be played on Fox Sports 501 at 9:30am AEDT on Sunday morning.


15 Nehe Milner-Skudder (Hurricanes & New Zealand)

14 Waisake Naholo (Highlanders & New Zealand)

13 Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies & Australia)

12 Ryan Crotty (Crusaders & New Zealand)

11 Nemani Nadolo (Crusaders & Fiji)

10 Lima Sopoaga (Highlanders & New Zealand)

9 Tawera Kerr Barlow (Chiefs & New Zealand)

1 Thomas du Toit (Sharks)

2 Stephen Moore (Brumbies & Australia)

3 Charlie Faumuina (Blues & New Zealand)

4 Lood de Jager (Cheetahs & South Africa)

5 Victor Matfield (Northampton Saints & South Africa, captain)

6 Scott Fardy (Brumbies & Australia)

7 Ardie Savea (Hurricanes)

8 Stephen Hoiles (Waratahs & Australia)

Replacements (from)

James Hanson (Melbourne Rebels & Australia)

Jamie Mackintosh (Chiefs & New Zealand),

Toby Smith (Melbourne Rebels & Australia)

Bakkies Botha (South Africa)

Jarrad Butler (Brumbies)

Cobus Reinach (Sharks & South Africa)

Pat Lambie (Sharks & South Africa)

Francois Venter (Cheetahs)

Joe Tomane (Brumbies & Australia)