Hahn - Official Beer of the Sydney 7s

News Article

Wallabies to face England and Wales at Twickenham in Rugby World Cup 2015

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By ARU Media Unit

Australia will play both England and Wales at Twickenham, London, in their feature pool matches of Rugby World Cup 2015. 

The announcement of the venues and match schedule for the eighth staging of the game’s showpiece event was made tonight in the UK with the Wallabies to play their other two games in Pool A in Birmingham and Cardiff.
The Wallabies had earlier been drawn in one of four five-team groups alongside host nation England, Wales, Oceania 1 and a Play-Off Winner.
The Wallabies will kick-off their quest for a record third Rugby World Cup title on Monday, 23 September, at Millennium Stadium in Cardiff against a yet to be determined Oceania opponent, most likely Fiji. 
Four days later the Wallabies will head to Villa Park in Birmingham to face a potential European qualifying team, before heading to Twickenham to face hosts England on Thursday, 3 October. 
Following their longest break of the Tournament, seven days, the Wallabies will wrap up their pool matches against Wales on Thursday 10 October at Twickenham. 
While Wales have been provided the opportunity to play two of their four pool games at their home base in Cardiff, their two key matches against the Wallabies and England will be played at Twickenham.
Wallabies coach, Robbie Deans, welcomed the schedule and the Wallabies two matches at Twickenham.
“While we’ve got more immediate matters at hand to focus on, it’s always good to get clarity with these things so that the plans can begin to be put in place,” Deans said. 
“Twickenham is one of the great Rugby destinations so the two games there to finish pool play will be something the playing group will no doubt look forward to.
“It’s also good to see a more equitable distribution of the playing demands on teams, as previously it has been slightly weighted against some of the emerging nations.”
The Wallabies will enjoy four day, six day and seven day breaks between their four pool matches.
A potential Quarter Final clash with South Africa, Scotland, Samoa or two yet to be determined emerging nations could await the Wallabies should they finish in the top two of their pool. 
Wallabies Rugby World Cup 2015 Pool A match schedule
Australia v Oceania 1, 23 September, Millennium Stadium Cardiff
Australia v Play-Off Winner, 27 September, Villa Park Birmingham
Australia v England, 3 October, Twickenham London
Australia v Wales, 10 October, Twickenham London
The remaining Pools for Rugby World Cup 2015 are as follows:
Pool B: South Africa, Samoa, Scotland, Asia 1, Americas 2
Pool C: New Zealand, Argentina, Tonga, Europe 1, Africa 1
Pool D: France, Ireland, Italy, Americas 1, Europe 2