News Article

Leali'ifano big mover in the Castrol EDGE Strongest Performer of the Series Award

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend


Qantas Wallabies centre Christian Leali’ifano was the big mover in the Castrol EDGE Strongest Performer of the Series Award after Saturday night’s clash against the Springboks in Brisbane.

The young Brumbies playmaker picked up 15 points to be named the Castrol EDGE Strongest Performer of the Week after his enterprising performance against South Africa that included landing four penalty goals.

Leali’ifano now sits in second on the overall table on 24 points but he is still well behind NSW flanker Michael Hooper who is way out in front on 55 points after picking up 11 points in Brisbane, despite spending ten minutes in the sin bin for a lifting tackle on Bryan Habana.

The other big mover was winger James O’Connor whose prominent attacking display saw him collect seven points and move him up into outright third on the overall table on 15 points.

On the night O’Connor just edged out mobile Queensland Reds lock Rob Simmons who picked up six points for his powerful all-round performance to move up to equal 7th overall.

Each week during the 2013 Castrol EDGE Rugby Championship, Fairfax’s panel of leading Rugby writers, who includes some of Australia’s top Rugby scribes such as Paul Cully, Georgina Robinson and Spiro Zavos, vote for the best-performing Qantas Wallabies.

Points are allocated on a three, two, one basis by each panelist, with the player with the highest points tally at the end of the tournament being awarded the Castrol EDGE Strongest Performer of the Series trophy.

A running points table will be published in the Sydney Morning Herald and each week during the Castrol EDGE Rugby Championship.

The full points table is below.

Points after Round Three:
KEY: Placing this round., (Placing last Round), Overall Points Tally, [Points scored this Round]

1. (1) Michael Hooper 55 [11]
2. (3) Christian Leali’ifano 24 [15]
3. (4) James O'Connor 15 [7]
4. (4) Adam Ashley-Cooper 11 [3]
4. (4) Israel Folau 11 [3]
6. (2) Scott Fardy 10 [-]
7. (4) Will Genia 9 [1]
7. (8) Rob Simmons 9 [6]
9. (8) Ben Mowen 5 [2]
10. (11) James Slipper 4 [2]
10. (12) Stephen Moore 4 [3]
12. (8) James Horwill 3 [DNP]
13. (12) Matt Toomua 1 [-]
13. (-) Quade Cooper 1 [1]

Panellists: Georgina Robinson, Paul Cully, Stephen Samuelson, Chris Dutton, Spiro Zavos, Matthew Burke, Peter FitzSimons, Rupert Guinness, Phil Lutton.