News Article

Late change to Qantas Wallabies side to play Italy

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By Qantas Wallabies Media Unit

The Qantas Wallabies have been forced to make a late change to the match night squad for tomorrow’s Test against Italy in Florence.

Hooker Tatafu Polota Nau comes off the bench, to be replaced by James Hanson, who is involved in the match night squad on tour for the first time after making his debut during last month’s drawn Bledisloe Cup Test in Brisbane.
Polota Nau was withdrawn this evening after still being troubled by soreness from last weekend’s Cook Cup Test match during today’s captain’s walkover at the Stade Artemio, where tomorrow’s Test will be played.
The Qantas Wallabies have completed preparations for what will be the 15th Test match to have been played between Australia and Italy.
The game, which kicks off at 1am on Sunday November 25 [AEDT], will be shown live on both Fox Sports and on Channel 10, Australian Rugby’s new free-to-air broadcast partner.
In other news from the Qantas Wallabies’ Spring Tour, a date has been set for Australia’s appeal against the eight-week suspension that was handed to lock Rob Simmons following the Test against France in Paris earlier in the trip.
The appeal will be heard by a three-man panel in Bristol, an hour by road from Cardiff,  next Tuesday night.
The Qantas Wallabies squad moves to Cardiff for the final Test of 2012, the James Bevan Trophy match against Wales, on Sunday.
The revised Qantas Wallabies team to play Italy at the Stade Artemio in Florence on Saturday (kick-off: 3pm local time, 1am, Sunday November 25, AEDT) is:
15. Berrick Barnes (NSW Waratahs)
14. Nick Cummins (Western Force)
13. Adam Ashley-Cooper (NSW Waratahs)
12. Ben Tapuai (Queensland Reds)
11. Drew Mitchell (NSW Waratahs)
10. Kurtley Beale (Melbourne Rebels)
9. Brett Sheehan (Western Force)
8. Wycliff Palu (NSW Waratahs)
7. Michael Hooper (NSW Waratahs)
6. Scott Higginbotham (Melbourne Rebels)
5. Nathan Sharpe (Western Force, captain)
4. Sitaleki Timani (NSW Waratahs)
3. Ben Alexander (Brumbies)
2. Stephen Moore (Brumbies)
1. Benn Robinson (NSW Waratahs)
Run on Reserves:
16. James Hanson (Queensland Reds)
17. James Slipper (Queensland Reds)
18. Sekope Kepu (NSW Waratahs)
19. Dave Dennis (NSW Waratahs)
20. Liam Gill (Queensland Reds)
21. Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels)
22. Mike Harris (Queensland Reds)
23. Digby Ioane (Queensland Reds)