It is an exciting time for Women’s Rugby in Australia, with two forms of the Game, Sevens and 15s, now being played in schools and clubs across the country.

Girls can play Rugby at school and club level in all-girl or mixed gender teams up to the age of 12, starting with U6s Tag, or non-tackle, Rugby. Teenage girls can participate in school-based competitions provide by their State Union, while females aged over 18 can participate in club-based competitions across the country.
To find your nearest club please click here.
The inclusion of Rugby Sevens in the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio has seen global growth of the game, and nowhere stronger than in Australia. A fun, fast and exciting Game, Sevens is being embraced by all ages and abilities. A number of pathways have been developed offering girls the opportunity to play socially and at representative level.

Australian Women’s Sevens Team – Pearls

The Australian Pearls are currently competing in the 2013/2014 Women’s Sevens World Series. This season’s tournament begins at the purpose built 7he Sevens stadium in Dubai, which played host to the first ever IRB Women's Sevens World Series event last year.

The Series will then continue in global destinations USA (Atlanta), Brazil, (Sao Paulo) China (Guangzhou) and Netherlands (Amsterdam), highlighting the ongoing growth and development of women's Rugby around the world.

IRB Women's Sevens World Series - Dates and Venues.

IRB Women's Sevens World Series - Dates and Venues





Dubai, United Arab Emirates

28-29 November 2013


Atlanta, Georgia, USA

15-16 February 2014


Arena Barueri, São Paulo, Brazil

21-22 February 2014


Guangzhou University Town Stadium, Guangzhou, China

5-6 April 2014


National Rugby Centrum, Amsterdam, Netherlands

16-17 May 2014

Australian National Women’s Sevens Championships
The National Women’s Sevens Championships takes place annually, and this year, occured in Sydney in April. Teams from state unions and affiliates will compete to become national champions and individuals vie for National squad selection.

Finalists Australian Touch and ACT
National Women's Sevens Championships 2013

Australian Schoolgirls Sevens Championships
The second National Schoolgirl Sevens Championship for 2013 took place on the Gold Coast in October with the finals being played at Skilled Park prior to the opening game of the HSBC Sevens World Series tournament.
State representative players battle it out to be crowned National Champions, as well as the opportunity to be selected into the Australian Youth squad. For more information on participating in Schoolgirl Sevens programs please contact your local state union.

Australian Women’s Team – Wallaroos

The Australian Women’s 15-a-side team are about to embark on the 2014 Women’s Rugby World Cup campaign in France. The Wallaroos achieved their best ever WRWC position in 2010 by finishing a strong third place.



Latest News

Australian Rugby Union is delighted to announce that Sila Tuangakava from the Western Raptors Junior Rugby Union and Penrith District Junior Rugby Union has been named the 2014 Asteron Life Community Coach of the Year. Read full article...
Australian Rugby Union launches its Search for a Sevens Star
Do you love sport?
Were you born in 1997, 1998 or 1999?
Do you want to represent your country at the Olympic Games?
Do you want to win GOLD? Read full article...
Walsh and Hoffmann appointed to Rugby Championship fixtures
The International Rugby Board has announced the match official appointments for The Rugby Championship 2014, with Australian Rugby to be represented by Steve Walsh and Rohan Hoffmann. Read full article...
Gardner and O'Brien appointed to IRB 2014 JWC Fixtures

The IRB has announced its match officials list for the second stage of the 2014 IRB Junior World Championships overnight, with two Australians appointed to referee two of the games in New Zealand on Sunday.

Read full article...

Find a Club

Suburb or Town

or Postcode

Find Now 

BizModules - UltraPhotoGallery

Get Adobe Flash player Install latest flash player if you can't see this gallery, or click here to see the html version.