2013 National Women's Championship Format


Championship Eligibility

Player Eligibility

To be eligible to compete in the Championship, all players MUST be:

(a) (i) 18 years of age on or before the first match day; or

(ii) 16 years of age or over on 1st January in the year of the Championship (DOB 1996); and eligible for an exception to play Senior Rugby under ARU Senior Rugby Policy. (A Senior Rugby Consent Form - if applicable - must be submitted with declaration of team). 

If submission is approved, all Team Management must complete the relevant ‘Working with Children’ paperwork for their State and submit it to their State Union.; and

(b) currently registered for the club association and/or the Participating Union they represent; and

(c) registered for the Participating Team on the Team Registration Form (Appendix 3).  


Championship Rules

IRB Laws of the Game

All matches shall be played in accordance with IRB Laws of the Game of Rugby Union.

Duration of Matches

The duration of all Pool matches will be 30-minute each half with a 5-minute half time. All playoffs and finals will be 30 minutes each half with a 5-minute half time. Additionally for playoffs and finals a maximum 5 minutes injury time will be added per match (in the 2nd half only). The match referee shall be solely responsible for keeping time.

Extra Time

During the Championship, ALL matches except the Cup Final, no extra time will be played in the event of a match being drawn at the end of normal time. The result will be determined as outlined below. The Cup Final, after a break of one minute, will play extra time for 10 minutes duration. If the scores are still tied at the conclusion of this period of time teams will be declared equal winners.

Pool Points Calculation

Points will be awarded in the Pool matches (both Division 1 & 2) on the following basis:

Win 4 points
Draw 2 points
Loss 1 point for loss by 7 points or less
Loss 0 points for loss of more than 7 points
Bonus 1 point for 4 tries or more


Championship Format and Draw

Eight (8) teams will compete in two pools (Pool A and Pool B), as determined by ARU, and play round robin competition.

Cross pool matches will be played on final day: 

1st Pool A v 1st Pool B (Cup Final)

2nd Pool A v 2nd Pool B

3rd Pool A v 3rd Pool B (Plate Final)

4th Pool A v 4th Pool B 

Championship Trophies & Medals

Trophies will be presented to; 

Cup Winners (1st) and Plate Champions (5th). The winners will also receive medals.

A Player of the Championship trophy will also be awarded.


Latest News

Australian Rugby Union is delighted to announce that Sila Tuangakava from the Western Raptors Junior Rugby Union and Penrith District Junior Rugby Union has been named the 2014 Asteron Life Community Coach of the Year. Read full article...
Australian Rugby Union launches its Search for a Sevens Star
Do you love sport?
Were you born in 1997, 1998 or 1999?
Do you want to represent your country at the Olympic Games?
Do you want to win GOLD? Read full article...
Walsh and Hoffmann appointed to Rugby Championship fixtures
The International Rugby Board has announced the match official appointments for The Rugby Championship 2014, with Australian Rugby to be represented by Steve Walsh and Rohan Hoffmann. Read full article...
Gardner and O'Brien appointed to IRB 2014 JWC Fixtures

The IRB has announced its match officials list for the second stage of the 2014 IRB Junior World Championships overnight, with two Australians appointed to referee two of the games in New Zealand on Sunday.

Read full article...

Course Calendar

Click on your state to locate your next face to face course