WA Schoolboys named for National Championships

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By Rugby WA Media

The Western Australian State Schoolboys squad has been announced ahead of the upcoming 2013 National Schoolboy Championships starting in Sydney on Monday, 1 July.

Scrumhalf Angus Taylor will captain the side while prop Tristan Schneider will act as deputy.
Aranmore Catholic College is the best represented school with five players, while six members of the Bankwest Academy have been selected.
Hooker Terrell Berryman, son of former All Black Norm Berryman, has also been chosen in the squad.
WA Schoolboys Assistant Coach and Head Coach of the Bankwest Academy, Dwayne Nestor, along with Head Coach Elwee Prinsloo and fellow assistant Michael Holland, has been impressed with how quickly the squad has come together.
“This year they’re a team that has been able to pick up the concepts really quickly, which is important as we’re looking to play a well-structured game,” Nestor said.
“While we’re expecting Queensland I and New South Wales I to be strong again, if we rely on good structures and good systems then we’ll be very competitive.”
With the demanding schedule of four games in six days, Nestor says the selectors have picked a tough team with the attitude and character to handle the quick turnaround.
The National Schoolboys Championships provides a prime opportunity for the State’s best schoolboy talent to showcase their skills, with several Emirates Western Force players representing the Western Australian Schoolboys in past tournaments. Kieran Longbottom (2002); Zack Holmes, Dane Haylett-Petty and Justin Turner (all 2007); and Kyle Godwin (2009) have all progressed from the representative side to sign senior contracts with Force.
Nestor believes this year’s squad contains players capable of pushing for higher honours this season.
“The tournament gives the guys a chance to make the Australian Schoolboys squad and represent their country which is important for these boys and a lot of them put a huge amount of effort in to their preparation,” he said.
“We’ve got a number of players that selectors should be interested in and it’s a matter for those players – and us as a team – to find consistency during the tournament against quality opposition.”
The National Schoolboys Championships will run from Monday, 1 July to Saturday, 6 July at Riverview Sydney, New South Wales.
2013 Western Australian Schoolboys Squad:
Hayden Anderson (Aranmore Catholic College), Grayson Artmanni (Padbury SHS), Auvae Auvae (Seven Oaks), Terrell Berryman (Aranmore Catholic College), Joshua Billington (Hale School), Ruban Birch (Guildford Grammar), Hershelle Classen (Aranmore Catholic College), Kauri Cudd (Comet Bay College), Tevin Ferris (John Tonkin), Michael Fotu (Lynwood High School), Luke Foulwer (Mazanod), Liam Husband (St Marks ACS), Aden Kambouris (Hale School), Jacob Kohinga (Aranmore Catholic College), Tim Koiatu (Tuart College), Chris Miller (Kennedy Baptist College), Jayden Ngamanu (Aranmore Catholic College), Isaiah Pederson (Thornlie SHS), Blake Phillips (Clarkson SHS), Tristan Schneider (Mindarie SHS), Thomas Sheminant (Christchurch Grammar), Angus Taylor (c) (Newman College), Michael Tui (Port School).
2013 National Schoolboys Championship
Riverview Sydney, New South Wales
Monday, 1 July – Western Australia v New South Wales
Wednesday, 3 July – Western Australia v Queensland II
Thursday, 4 July – Western Australia v Combined States
Saturday, 6 July – Finals

Latest News

Australian Rugby Union is delighted to announce that Sila Tuangakava from the Western Raptors Junior Rugby Union and Penrith District Junior Rugby Union has been named the 2014 Asteron Life Community Coach of the Year. Read full article...
Australian Rugby Union launches its Search for a Sevens Star
Do you love sport?
Were you born in 1997, 1998 or 1999?
Do you want to represent your country at the Olympic Games?
Do you want to win GOLD? Read full article...
Walsh and Hoffmann appointed to Rugby Championship fixtures
The International Rugby Board has announced the match official appointments for The Rugby Championship 2014, with Australian Rugby to be represented by Steve Walsh and Rohan Hoffmann. Read full article...
Gardner and O'Brien appointed to IRB 2014 JWC Fixtures

The IRB has announced its match officials list for the second stage of the 2014 IRB Junior World Championships overnight, with two Australians appointed to referee two of the games in New Zealand on Sunday.

Read full article...