Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By Community Rugby

The 2012 South Queensland Ella 7's Nominations are open!

General information
Date: Friday 2 and Saturday 3 November
Venue: Ballymore Stadium (91 Clyde Road, Herston QLD 4006).
The tournament is limited to 16 men and 8 women's teams.
All players must be over the age of 18. Players turning 18 in 2012 can apply for dispensation. These need to be lodged before you arrive at Ballymore Park.
Each team will be required to pay an entrance fee of $1,100 (includes a team kit: 1 training ball and a recovery pack including Salad & Meat Roll, piece of fruit, Gatorade drink and chocolate).

Insurance - all players must complete an ARU registration form. You can find this on the Ella 7’s Facebook page.
Those who wish to enter a second team are welcome to do so, however this team will fall in the same half of the draw as the Number 1 team.
Principal rules

Each team is to consist of 12 players and 2 management staff, with a maximum of 2 Non-Aboriginal players.
There is to be a maximum of five replacements per game (once replaced, that player cannot return to the field of play. Exceptions are made for a blood bin situation).

You will play a minimum of 3 games of Rugby 7's.
The event will be run on Cup, Plate and, if enough teams, Bowl.

All pool, quarter and semi-final games will be 7 minutes each half.

The finals in each Cup, Plate & Bowl will run for 10 minutes each half, with a 2-minute break at half time.

The men's competition Cup winner will receive $5,000 (based on a minimum of 16 teams).

The Cup winner in the Women’s draw will receive $3,000 (based on a minimum of 8 teams).

There will also be monetary prizes for the runners-up and the minor Plate competition.

Teams are allowed to organise their own sponsorship and have their sponsors displayed on the team jumpers.

Teams can either design their own jumpers or choose one from our supplier. You can change colours of the jumper as you wish.

Teams must  pay for jumpers by Monday 15 October 2012. Those that do not pay by this date will be unable to choose their jumper design, sizing and/or have their sponsor’s logos on jerseys (they will be provided a generic set by LMRDT Inc.)
The event remains the ownership of the LMRDT Inc.
Please get your team nominations in as soon as possible!
For more information follow this link:

Latest News

Walsh and Hoffmann appointed to Rugby Championship fixtures
The International Rugby Board has announced the match official appointments for The Rugby Championship 2014, with Australian Rugby to be represented by Steve Walsh and Rohan Hoffmann. Read full article...
Gardner and O'Brien appointed to IRB 2014 JWC Fixtures

The IRB has announced its match officials list for the second stage of the 2014 IRB Junior World Championships overnight, with two Australians appointed to referee two of the games in New Zealand on Sunday.

Read full article...
Announcement: Australian Rugby’s new online Competition Management and Participant Registration system

We’re excited to announce that Australian Rugby will be moving to a new online system for national competition management and participant registration for the 2014 Rugby Sevens season and the 2015 club Rugby season.

Read full article...
Welcome to Rugby 2014 - a message from ARU CEO Bill Pulver

We’re set for an exciting year with plenty to look forward to in 2014, including our Qantas Men’s Sevens team competing in the Commonwealth Games (July), the Women’s Rugby World Cup in France (August) and the launch of a new domestic competition – the National Rugby Championship (August).

Read full article...