2011 Coffs Coast Challenge

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By Community Rugby

Over 600 players from 42 teams in age groups from U10's to U15's enjoyed 3 days of beautiful weather in Coffs Harbour as part of the Coff Coast Challenge.

Teams came from Coogee in the South to Helensvale & the Gold Coast in the North and everywhere in between.

This was the third year of the Coffs Coast Challenge, growing from 19 teams in 2009, and will be looking to be even bigger again next year.

Coffs Harbour turned on the weather, with perfect conditions for all three days of the games.

With competitive running Rugby being played in all divisions, each team nominated a player for the coveted Spirit of Rugby Awards at the conclusion of the tournament. Players from each team who receive the award are nominated based on the values they have shown throughout the tournament.

In the U11’s, the Hunter Barbarians entered two teams for the first time. The Hunter Barbarians were made up from players from Nelson Bay, Maitland, Singleton and Wanderers Rugby Clubs and have been raising money for ‘Enough is Enough’ the anti-bullying campaign. Former Wallaby Steve Merrick was along for the trip with coaching duties of one of the teams.

And it was not only players forging new friendships, with parents from the Barbarian teams also enjoying the social nature of the Coffs Coast Challenge.

All the photo's from the three days can be found on the Rugby Festivals page.


Some of the Spirit of Rugby Award Winners
Coffs Crusaders Darcy Newell
Coffs Barbarians Billy McGee
Port Macquarie Zac Hart
Entrance Northlakes Connor Lansdowne
Sydney Barbarians Clayton Form
Hunters Hill Ernie Pagliaro
Green Point Christian Lachie Apps
Coffs Crusaders Ollie Smyth
Hunter Baa Baa White Zac Grimshaw
Woy Woy Lions Owen Kenny
Helensvale Hogs Jak Pearson
Terrigal Daniel Phillips
Port Macquarie Sam Bailey
Hunter Baa Baa Black Jack Hamilton
Dorrigo Broden Owen
Port Macquarie 1 Ben De Burgh
Port Macquarie 2 Cooper Reichelt
Upper Hunter Baa Baas Rohan Edwards
Coffs Crusaders William Bates
St Augustines Abraham Tong
Kempsey Jacob Nelson
Gold Coast Baa Baas All Players
Woy Woy Lions Solomon Naiobi
Green Point Christian Aiden Siech
Hunters Hill Joshua Zoobach
Wahroonga Kade Robinson
Wanderers Baa Baas Harry Thomas
Coffs Crusaders Nathaniel Hart
Coffs Crusaders Sam Connie
Green Point Christian  Benn Houssenloge
Wanderers Alex McDonald
Dorrigo Adam Garson and Caleb Galea
Coffs Crusaders Tom Gilbert
Green Point Christian  Ash Roberts
Harbord Harlequins Max Searle
Bangalow Davis Jensen


Latest News

Australian Rugby Union is delighted to announce that Sila Tuangakava from the Western Raptors Junior Rugby Union and Penrith District Junior Rugby Union has been named the 2014 Asteron Life Community Coach of the Year. Read full article...
Australian Rugby Union launches its Search for a Sevens Star
Do you love sport?
Were you born in 1997, 1998 or 1999?
Do you want to represent your country at the Olympic Games?
Do you want to win GOLD? Read full article...
Walsh and Hoffmann appointed to Rugby Championship fixtures
The International Rugby Board has announced the match official appointments for The Rugby Championship 2014, with Australian Rugby to be represented by Steve Walsh and Rohan Hoffmann. Read full article...
Gardner and O'Brien appointed to IRB 2014 JWC Fixtures

The IRB has announced its match officials list for the second stage of the 2014 IRB Junior World Championships overnight, with two Australians appointed to referee two of the games in New Zealand on Sunday.

Read full article...