Nominees announced for Rugby’s 2013 National Volunteer of the Year Award

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend


Australian Rugby Union today announced the eight nominees from across the country for the 2013 National Volunteer of the Year Award, with the winner to be presented at the John Eales Medal this Thursday 24 October.
The National Volunteer of the Year Award recognises volunteers who have made a significant contribution to the development, promotion or advancement of Rugby in Australia as part of the National Volunteer Recognition Program.
Australian Rugby Union CEO, Bill Pulver said this year’s nominees highlight the dedication and passion for Rugby shown by volunteers across the country.
“This award reveals how significant and valuable volunteers are to our game. It amazes me the amount of time and effort that so many people make for Rugby in Australia. The National Volunteer Recognition Program recognises their ongoing and generous involvement,” Mr Pulver said.
“I’m looking forward to meeting the eight State and Territory nominees at the John Eales Medal on Thursday to personally thank them for their hard work and commitment.
“Focusing on Rugby at all levels in communities across Australia is a key focus for Australian Rugby’s future success. As part of this, we want to ensure all Rugby volunteers continue to be supported and acknowledged,” Mr Pulver said.
The eight volunteer nominees represent each State and Territory Union in Australia.

This year the 2013 nominees are:

Tiki Taupou – Redlands Rugby Club, Queensland

·         Since joining Redlands Rugby Club in 1998 as a parent and supporter, Tiki has been President, Coach, Chairperson, fundraiser and Manager.
·         Tiki is a proud supporter of women’s Rugby and fostering relationships with overseas Clubs and led the establishment of the Southern Bay Rugby Club as a satellite club of Redlands.

Micky Wilson – Woodville Rugby Union Football Club, South Australia

·         Micky has been a Committee Member of the Woodville Rugby Union Football Club for 22 years, Club Vice-President for 5 years, Assistant Secretary for 3 years, Club Secretary for 6 years, and Club Delegate for 11 years.
·         His passion for volunteering and perseverance in facility development continues to deliver great benefits for the Club and community.

Terry Foster – ARKS Rugby Unions Club, Western Australia

·         Terry has been a volunteer for the ARKS Rugby Union Club since the early 1980s and has held a number of roles at the Club, including President and Vice President and coach for more than 30 years.
·         Terry is involved in all aspects of the Club from player to referee to car park traffic warden and BBQ chef.

Les Marshall – Eastern Suburbs and Glenorchy Rugby Clubs, Tasmania

·         Les lives by the ethos ‘someone’s gotta do it’, which explains why his many roles include President, Secretary, Treasurer, Committee Member, Coach, Manager and First Aid trainer across all levels of Rugby at the Eastern Suburbs and Glenorchy Rugby Clubs in Tasmania.
·         He spends many a weekend travelling and juggling multiple tasks for several teams.
Brock Parker – Harlequin Rugby Club, Victoria

·         Brock has been an outstanding servant to Rugby in Victoria for more than a decade, including being first grade coach for Harlequin Rugby Club from 2003-2012.
·         He’s also the Director of Coaching for the Club, Coach of the Under 9s and been a Club Committee member since 2006.

David Martin – Griffith Junior Rugby, ACT

·         Since the inception of the Griffith Junior Rugby Club in 2001/2002, David has covered many roles and virtually run it single-handedly.
·         As a coach across a number of grades, David continues to contribute thousands of voluntary hours behind the scenes to the Club and the game.
·         David has managed many issues for the Club, sourced grants and drives children thousands of kilometres for Rugby games.

Jason Webster  –  Swampdogs Rugby Union Club, Northern Territory

·         Jason is Vice President, Coach and player at the Swampdogs Rugby Union Club. He volunteers his time to coach throughout the season and is a valued club member for fund raising activities and contributing to social activities.
·         Jason is a team player who has earned respect through leading by example and encouraging involvement and enjoyment at all levels of the game.
Barry Budd –  Eastwood Rugby Club, NSW

·         Barry Budd has been the ball boy and girl coordinator for Eastwood Rugby Club, NSW Rugby Union, NSW Waratahs Rugby Union and Australian Rugby Union for more than ten consecutive years.
·         He has sourced and trained ball boys and girls for local and international matches, contributing numerous hours of volunteer service to Rugby with very little recognition.
Contenders for the award are collected through a state nomination process, giving the Rugby community across the country an opportunity to recommend an individual they know has given their time to volunteer for the game of Rugby in Australia over a significant period.
Each State and Territory Union provide one nomination for the Award with the final winner decided by Australian Rugby Union’s CEO, General Manager of Rugby Operations and General Manager of Rugby Participation.
The winner of the 2013 National Volunteer of the Year will be announced and presented at Rugby’s night of nights, the John Eales Medal, this Thursday 24 October at the Sydney Convention Centre, Darling Harbour.
All eight nominees will be presented with a gift in recognition of their dedication and commitment to Rugby at the prestigious event.

Latest News

Australian Rugby Union is delighted to announce that Sila Tuangakava from the Western Raptors Junior Rugby Union and Penrith District Junior Rugby Union has been named the 2014 Asteron Life Community Coach of the Year. Read full article...
Australian Rugby Union launches its Search for a Sevens Star
Do you love sport?
Were you born in 1997, 1998 or 1999?
Do you want to represent your country at the Olympic Games?
Do you want to win GOLD? Read full article...
Walsh and Hoffmann appointed to Rugby Championship fixtures
The International Rugby Board has announced the match official appointments for The Rugby Championship 2014, with Australian Rugby to be represented by Steve Walsh and Rohan Hoffmann. Read full article...
Gardner and O'Brien appointed to IRB 2014 JWC Fixtures

The IRB has announced its match officials list for the second stage of the 2014 IRB Junior World Championships overnight, with two Australians appointed to referee two of the games in New Zealand on Sunday.

Read full article...