NSW Schoolboys sweep field to set up all-NSW final

Printable Version Printable Version    Recommend Recommend    Email to a friend Email to a friend

By NSW Rugby Union

New South Wales Schoolboys have swept the field at this year’s Novotel Australian Schools Rugby Championships. Both sides recorded final round victories over Queensland to top their respective pools and set up an all-NSW final for the first time since 2002.

Their performances in the third day of action at Riverview yesterday were eagerly watched by HSBC Waratahs Head Coach Michael Cheika, together with both his assistants Daryl Gibson and Alan Gaffney, and new Chief Scout Tim Kelaher.
Since coming on board a month ago, the former NSW and Australian Schoolboy and NSW Waratahs fullback has put in place a state-wide talent spotting program covering Sydney Grade, Country and Schoolboy rugby.
A large number of the current HSBC Waratahs squad have come through the Australian schoolboys system, including Benn Robinson, Bernard Foley, Drew Mitchell, Jed Holloway, Paddy Ryan, Jeremy Tilse, Lachie Turner, Rob Horne, Damien Fitzpatrick and Tom Carter. Of the promise shown by the next generation in NSW’s pool match performances the Australian Schools Championships, Kelaher said, "I was really impressed with both NSW Schoolboys teams that played yesterday in their wins again Queensland. 
“They showed some great attacking rugby.  The fact that NSW I is playing NSW II in the final shows what depth we have here in NSW.  We have already identified a few of the players in the squad that we are interested in bringing into our programs."
HSBC Waratahs’ flyhalf and former St Aloyius pupil Bernard Foley was part of the NSW II squad that played in the championship in 2007. “In the NSW sides that year I remember playing alongside guys like Damien Fitzpatrick and Rob Horne and playing against Queensland with a heap of guys like James O’Connor, Joe Tomane, James Slipper and Matt Toomoa in,” recalls Foley.
“It’s an established breeding ground and pathway to senior honours, playing against the best school-age players from each state.  A lot of the Wallabies and Waratahs players have come up through the schoolboy program.”
In Pool B, NSW I recorded a 39-24 victory over QLD II, with two tries from Barker College wing Harry Jones and further five pointers from outside centre Taane Milne (Newington), breakaway Jack McCalman (The King’s School), Scot’s College fullback Andrew Kellaway, Oakhill College lock Joshua Anderson and St Augustine’s wing Charlie Taylor. 
The stunning 25-17 victory over Queensland’s first team by NSW II in Pool A was achieved through tries from St Augustine’s No. 8 John Walker and Newington duo Josh Mitchell (wing) and Joey Lussick (scrumhalf), who also kicked two conversions and two penalties. 
The results mean tomorrow’s championship final will be an all-NSW affair. The game kicks off at 12.30pm at St Ignatius College, Riverview, Sydney.  Entry is free.
Final Pool Standings:
POOL A – NSW II(14), QLD I(10), VIC (5), ACT(0)
POOL B – NSW I (15), QLD II, (10), CS (5), WA (0)
NSW Schools Rugby 1st XV 2013
1.      Matthew Sandell (St Joseph’s College/GPS)
2.      Hosea Fotukava (St Ignatius College/GPS)
3.      Faaope Satui (Trinity Grammar/CAS)
4.      Lachlan Cannell (Newington/GPS)
5.      Joshua Anderson (Oakhill College/ISA)
6.      Angus Crichton (The Scots College/GPS)
7.      Jack McCalman (The Kings School/GPS)
8.      Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco (Endeavour Sports High/CHS)
9.      Mitchell Short (The Scots College/GPS)
10.   Andrew Deegan (St Joseph’s College/GPS)
11.   Charlie Taylor (St Augustine’s College/ISA)
12.   Tepai Moeroa (Newington/GPS)
13.   Taane Milne (Newington/GPS)
14.   Harry Jones (Barker College/CAS)
15.   Andrew Kellaway (The Scots College/GPS)
16.   Jackson McLean (Trinity Grammar/CAS)
17.   Matt Serhon (Newington/GPS)
18.   Will Ridley (The Scots College/ GPS)
19.   James Lough (St Augustine’s College/ISA)
20.   Billy Freeman (Kinross Wolaroi/ISA)
21.   Michael Kennedy (St Ignatius College/GPS)
22.  Corey Tulloch (The King’s School/GPS)
23.   Ben Cotton (Oakhill College/ISA)
NSW Schools Rugby 2nd XV 2013
1.      Mesui Tufui (Newington/GPS)
2.      Nick Koutsoukis (Waverley/CAS)
3.      Vunipola Fifita (Newington/GPS)
4.      Anthony Vasilis (Newington/GPS)
5.      Ned Hannigan (St Joseph’s College/GPS)
6.      David Morris (Newington/GPS)
7.      Brandon Paenga-Amosa (Endeavour Sports High/CHS)
8.      John Walker (St Augustine’s College/ISA)
9.      Joey Lussick (Newington/GPS)
10.   Jack Clancy (Shore/GPS)
11.   Tyson Davis (Barker College/CAS)
12.  Will Davis (The King’s School/GPS)
13.   Henry Hutchinson (St Ignatius College/ISA)
14.   Josh Mitchell (Newington/GPS)
15.   Nick Clancy (Shore/GPS)
16.   Nathan Kelly (St Ignatius College/GPS)
17.  Jamaine Crossley (The Scots College/GPS)
18.   Francis Brown (McKillop College Warnervale/CCC)
19.   Andrew Vatuvei (Sarah Redfern High/CHS)
20.   Arthur Currie (St Gregory’s Campbelltown/ISA)
21.   Stephen Kirkby (Barker/CAS)
22.   Matt Arnold (St Augustine’s College/ISA)
23.   Elliot Jennings (All Saints Maitland/CCC)


Latest News

Australian Rugby Union is delighted to announce that Sila Tuangakava from the Western Raptors Junior Rugby Union and Penrith District Junior Rugby Union has been named the 2014 Asteron Life Community Coach of the Year. Read full article...
Australian Rugby Union launches its Search for a Sevens Star
Do you love sport?
Were you born in 1997, 1998 or 1999?
Do you want to represent your country at the Olympic Games?
Do you want to win GOLD? Read full article...
Walsh and Hoffmann appointed to Rugby Championship fixtures
The International Rugby Board has announced the match official appointments for The Rugby Championship 2014, with Australian Rugby to be represented by Steve Walsh and Rohan Hoffmann. Read full article...
Gardner and O'Brien appointed to IRB 2014 JWC Fixtures

The IRB has announced its match officials list for the second stage of the 2014 IRB Junior World Championships overnight, with two Australians appointed to referee two of the games in New Zealand on Sunday.

Read full article...